Holiday Cheer

A quick little photo dump from the insides of my iPhone…

Not much has been happening on this end, however, the calm has been very welcome and enjoyable (not to mention, pretty to look at!).

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

 

If I could summarize my life for these past couple months in a word, the word would be chill. The past few years have been this whirlwind of go-go-go. It was a mix of scrambling through graduate school, living semester-to-semester, commuting in and out of the city all while balancing that out with working part time, interning, maintaining relationships, planning a wedding and keeping up with various family commitments. It was exhausting but we knew there was no stop until the wedding. I knew that once we got back from our honeymoon I would need a breather but I didn’t expect this. I have really just sort of “let go”. I felt as though there has been nothing to do and no structure. There is no planner full of assignments and appointments, no dates to get ready for, no big event looming over my head–no real motivation. I’ve taken the time to just be. Really, this is so not like me. I am super goal driven and live by my to do list! There is always a weekend outing that I spend the week anticipating.

But now..nothing.

School is over and work is steady with no big “appointments” or “deadlines”. Even the weekends have been slow, I work, Dan runs some errands and then we relax. We haven’t been going out like we usually do, really, we’ve just been chilling. It’s been several months of this lazy, easy, laid back non-routine and I have enjoyed it. However, I can’t stay here forever. I feel like it’s time to get my butt back in gear and get moving. At the very least, I’m buying myself a nice little planner and sticking to something

xox

9 thoughts on “Holiday Cheer

  1. Great post 🙂 Love the pictures! And that go-go-go feeling is something I feel like we all can related to. I think it is so important to just slow down and appreciate what is all around us. I’ve just finished my finals in my second to last semester of my undergrad, and I am so looking forward to spending Christmas not reading or studying anything!

      • Thank you! And yea definitely everyone has that nonstop at some point. Are you planning on going to grad school? I used love my winter breaks in undergrad! I felt like I could literally feel the weight lift off after those finals were over! Enjoy your down time 🙂 xox

      • I feel like a whole new person when finals are over! I hope to go to grad school sometime in the future. I haven’t entirely figured out what I want to do yet, so maybe once I have more of a direction I can figure out what I want my masters in. I graduate in May with a degree in English and Professional Writing, and I’m in that awkward stage of uhhh…what’s next? haha.

      • That’s kind of the stage I’m in now! I was an English major when I started college but then I switched to psych and philosophy 🙂

        It’s a great major but it’s so broad, literally millions of things to do with that. I wish I had taken time off after undergrad to work and decide what I really enjoyed before starting grad school. You have a great writing style, now I see why! 🙂 you have plenty of time though! Enjoy where the road takes you

      • Is that what your graduate degree is in too? I find all of that so interesting! And it is such a broad major- a lot of people always ask me if I am going to be a teacher, and I always say no haha. There is more to English than just teaching!

        I need to keep telling myself that too. The first job I have out of college won’t be my last! And thank you 🙂
        Whatever is meant to be will happen!

    • Omg lol!! When I was an English major people always said the same thing! “So, you’re going to teach like poetry or lit or something?” I’d be like..um no, did I say I was an Ed major? Lol! There is way more than just teaching! I had originally wanted to be a journalist but I got a little scared since it seemed to be a dying field. Really, I always just wanted to write!

      Yea, my masters is in counseling for mental health and wellness. Right now I’m a group exercise instructor and personal trainer so it definitely goes to use, just not in the traditional way 😉

      That’s the right attitude to have though, and to always be positive

      • Yeah, as of right now I know I love to write, and I love the whole beauty/fashion industry so hopefully I can go somewhere with that one day. And that sounds awesome, helping others be fit while keeping yourself fit at the same time and getting paid for it! Sounds like a win-win! Do you have a blog email or anything? If you’d like we could maybe do a collaborative post!

Leave a Reply

