The Best of 2013

Happy Last Day of 2013!!

In the spirit of New Year’s Eve I’ve decided to reflect on this past year and share some of my favorite highlights from each month. This year was a big one for, definitely will be hard to top! However, if I’ve learned one thing from the past it’s that even when it seems like best, it always seems to get better.

Cheers to that!

January 2013

Image

We rung in the new year with a great group of friends!

Image

 

I tried on a ridiculous amount of wedding dresses before realizing that the second one I ever tried on six months earlier was actually the one.

Image

 

And one of my closest friends got into Columbia for graduate school and we celebrated like this.

 

February

Image

Dan and I had an intimate little dinner at home to celebrate Valentine’s day…before I went off to Newport, Rhode Island (where we got married) for the weekend with my mother, sister and mother in law to hit the Newport Bridal Show.

Image

 

I introduced my sister to my good friend, the martini…

Image

 

And it was then and there that she decided she didn’t get along with my friend as well as I do and abruptly ended the relationship.

Image

 

Martinis and I still get along quite well.

 

March

Image

I got a breast augmentation, which was my first surgery ever. I was pleasantly shocked at how easy the entire procedure and recovery were. I had very minimal pain, it was really more discomfort than anything else. I did a ton of research before having this done and it was something I’ve wanted to do since I was way, way young. The amount of happiness it has brought me is literally indescribable. I talked to many, many people who had had this done before me and read a lot of other people’s story and their honesty and openness was a huge help to me, therefore I’ve decided to be a complete open book about my experience. If this is something you’ve thought about or are having done and want to talk about it or have any questions leave a comment or email me. (NOTE: serious and educational inquiries ONLY; this is not an excuse to be creep). 

 

April

Image

 

We had back to back Easter brunches with both our families. Good times, but being Thanksgiving-full mid Spring is something I can do without…

Image

 

Dan and I took a trip to Newport (I was there quite a bit this year!) to go for our venue tasting and several different bakeries to find our wedding cake. We solidified our wedding menu (which was INCREDIBLE) and decided we wanted Kerri from Sweet Indulgence to make our dream wedding cake. She absolutely BLEW US AWAY, I can’t say enough about how amazing she was and how insanely delicious our cake was! It was beyond beautiful, made me cry when I first saw it and people still talk about how delicious it was! The flavors we chose were Canoli and Red Velvet and Kerri has truly perfected those flavors. If you’re ever in the Providence/Warwick area of Rhode Island you must, MUST check out her bakery!

May

Image

I graduated from NYU with my Masters Degree!!! And then I celebrated like this….

Image

With lots of these!

Image 

 

June

Image

 

I celebrated my 25th birthday!!

Image

 

And went to Smorgasburg in Williamsburg, BK which was every bit as incredible as I had imagined. And then some.

 

July

Image

 

Dan and I spent a lot of time here.

Image

 

 

We watched fireworks upstate with some lovely friends.

Image

 

And I had my bridal shower!!

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

 

August

Image

 

We continued to spend an abundant amount of time here.

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

 

September

Image

 

Our biggest month of the year kicked off with our bachelor and bachelorette parties. He spent his in Puerto Rico and I spent mine in Miami drinking out of penis straws like this. 

Image

 

Like, all day, everyday.

Image

 

I like to think that at some point we acted like ladies, but then…

Image

 

Yea. I’m sorry Miami….or…you’re welcome.

Image

 

Then, I cleaned up my act and got married in the Church. Nice transition there, right? We had to have a small, private church ceremony because Catholic priests don’t marry outside of the church and we had an outdoor wedding.

Image

 

I wore this off white dress from Zara which I just adore. 

Two weeks later we were BACK in Newport for the real deal! We got there on a Thursday night and Friday afternoon had our rehearsal.

Image

 

And in between the rehearsal and rehearsal dinner I single handedly stuffed all of our guests’ welcome bags.

Image

 

With a smile on my face, of course. Then, the following day, this happened:

Image

 

I took a selfie in my wedding dress! And then we got MARRIED!!!

Image

 

And I’ve never been happier.

Image

 

October

Image

 

We left for our honeymoon the day after our wedding (9/29) and stayed there for two weeks so basically, the first half of October. I didn’t think I could love a state more than I love California but OH MY WORD, Hawaii stole my heart. I don’t know how Dan was able to drag me home; I certainly had enough overpacked to move right in. We spent our first week in Kona on The Big Island. It looked like this…

Image

 

Image

 

And all I ate was Poke..

Image

 

We spent the second week in Kauai which was the most breathtakingly beautiful place I have ever seen in my life.

Image

 

Image

 

November

Image

 

Before Thanksgiving I had a fun little photoshoot with one of the companies I train at.

Image

 

And then I drank way too much on Thanksgiving Eve and ate way too much on Thanksgiving.

 

December

Image

 

Then, as the year came to an end I baked and ate way too many cookies.

Image

 

And had a spectacular first Christmas as the wife to the most fabulous, loving and wonderful husband.

 

And now I’m off to go put on way too much makeup, complete with an absurd amount of glitter, drink my weight in champagne and Prosecco, eat a fabulously late dinner and ring in 2014 with the love of my life! I hope your New Year’s Eve is absolutely spectacular!!

 

xoxo

Leave a Reply

