Healthy Paleo Muffins – THREE Ways!

Let’s talk Paleo for a second…

Image

 

I don’t follow it. There’s our Paleo chat.

But, wait! I have eaten some pretty rad Paleo muffins before and there is one thing I know about the Paleo diet: there isn’t much to it. Really, there’s only so much you can eat. It seems every Paleo follower I’ve come across doesn’t eat much other than chicken, fish, nuts, avocado and bacon. Then again, I don’t know many Paleo followers. Please disregard my generalization of this population, k? 

There’s one other thing I know about Paleo foods, especially store bought Paleo baked goods- they’re kind of pricey. Just  a tad. Since my infinite wisdom and overgeneralization of this diet tell me that nothing more than a few key ingredients are needed to make anything Paleo, I figured how hard can it really be to make a Paleo muffin of my own? Some nuts, some coconut oil, a few add ins? Eggs, maybe? Let’s try this..

Image

 

After some research through my vast personal libraries, AKA Pinterest, I combined a bunch of standard Paleo muffin ingredients that looked appealing to me and had myself a little experiment! What do you know…it went really well! I’m talking delicious, moist, slightly sweet, energizing and glorious Paleo muffins in not one but THREE tempting flavors!! We’ve got Lemon-Blueberry, Chocolate Peanut Butter and Cinnamon-Coconut. 

I was so pleasantly surprised with the outcome of these muffins; they came out so good! The Plaeo muffins I’ve had in the past have been a little past the point of moist, they’ve been straight up WET. I’m not sure if it was the lack of eggs that lend their fluffiness or too much oil? The texture of these muffins are what pleased me the most. They are tender and just moist enough, texturally they are very similar to a standard muffin but a bit more dense. I believe it was the addition of egg whites and banana that made them so fluffy. Don’t you love when I pretend I know what I’m talking about? This is my honest hypothesis, though (based on all the priceless knowledge I’ve gained from reading blogs and watching Food Network). 

If I could describe these muffins I’d tell you to imagine what it’d be like if a homemade bakery muffin and a Larabar had a little muffin baby. That’s the taste and texture goin’ on here.

Image

 

My husband and I are loving these! Plus, they keep with my January theme of only keeping healthier/lighter snacks in our home. After a few months of a freezer, fridge and pantry full of way too many decadent treats for one two person household, this a welcome change. My thighs are also much appreciative. These make the most perfect pre-workout and afternoon pick me up snacks, which is exactly what Dan and I eat them for. They’re especially great pre-run and pre-spin, talk about energy burst!

One other thing to mention, I find many Paleo recipes to be very high in fat. I know it’s all healthy fat but I like to enjoy these before a workout so I didn’t want them weighed down with too much fat as too much makes me more tired than energized. I used skim milk which I don’t believe is Paleo because that’s what we like but please feel free to sub almond or soy milk; they all work great here. Also, many recipes used a lot of whole eggs (up to 3 or 4 for a batch of 9 muffins). To cut down the fat I used less coconut oil and whole eggs than what I saw in most recipes and instead used egg whites and bananas. I like my carbs. Feel free to use three whole eggs and a TBSP more of coconut oil instead of the half a banana here for a low carb treat!

 

Image

 

 

Healthy Paleo Muffins – Three Ways!

Ingredients: 

– 1 Cup Almond Meal (almond flour; I found mine at Trader Joe’s-also the cheapest I’ve found)

– 1/2 a Banana, mushed well

– 1 TBSP Coconut Flour

– 1/2 TSP Baking Soda

– 1/4 TSP Baking Powder

– 2 1/2 TBSP Honey (or more, up to 1/4 cup at most. Can also sub Maple Syrup, Agave or a mix of these. Adjust sweetness according to your taste)

– 1 Whole Egg

– 1 Egg White (I used an egg white from the carton, not an actual egg)

– 3 TBSP Coconut Oil, melted

– Up to 1 (1/3 for first part of recipe, rest for the flavor add ins) cup Skim Milk (can sub almond or soy)

– Pinch of Salt

Directions

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and spray a mini muffin tray with non stick cooking spray or line with mini muffin liners.

Whisk the almond and coconut flours, baking soda and powder and the pinch of salt together in a large bowl, set aside. Mash up your banana in a bowl and to that add your melted coconut oil, honey, egg and egg white. Whisk this together really well until it’s fully combined. Pour that into your dry mix and stir until completely incorporated. Then separate your batter evenly between three bowls and do the following:

 

Bowl #1: Lemon-Blueberry

Additional Ingredients:

– 1/2 TSP Lemon Extract

– Zest of Half a Lemon

– 1/3 Cup Fresh Blueberries

– 2 TBSP Skim Milk (or milk sub)

Directions:

Mix all additional ingredients into the bowl, saving the milk for last. Add your milk after everything’s been incorporated. You want the batter fairly wet but not drippy. If you need a bit more milk, add it by the TBSP. Pour into mini muffin pan (you can fill to the top; none of the flavors rise much). Bake for 20-25 minutes; remove, let cool 5-10 minutes in pan, then remove and continue cooling on a cookie rack. Do NOT over bake! Check them at the 20 minute mark, they may look a TAD underdone when they come out but trust me, they finish cooking in the pan! This goes for all flavors!

 

Coconut-Cinnamon

Additional Ingredients

– 1/4 TSP Cinnamon

– 1/4 TSP Coconut Extract

– 1/4 Reduced Fat Dehydrated Coconut Flakes

– 2 TBSP Skim Milk

Directions

Mix all ingredients into bowl, milk being last. Add until batter is wet and not too thick. Scoop into mini muffin pan and bake for 12-15 minutes. Let cool up to 5 minutes in pan then finish cooling on cookie rack.

 

Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip

Additional Ingredients

– 1/4 TSP Vanilla Extract

– 2 TBSP Chocolate Flavored PB2 Powdered Peanut Butter

– 1/4 Cup Skim Milk

– 3 Discs Trader Joe’s Unsweetened Baking Melts, chopped (this was all I had on hand but you can also use 1-2 TBSP dark chocolate chips, Enjoy Life Gluten Free chocolate chips or 2 small squares of your favorite dark chocolate!)

Directions

Add all additional ingredients to your bowl, saving milk for last. Mix in the milk until batter is not too thick. Scoop into muffin pans and bake for 12-15 minutes. Let cool 5 minutes in the muffin pan, remove and let finish cooling on a cookie rack.

 

Enjoy!!

Image

I hope you love these little muffins as much as we do and feel good about eating them because not one ingredient in this recipe is bad for you! Perfect to have sitting around and they freeze wonderfully! Thaw them out on the counter for an hour or so or defrost in the microwave. 

xox

 

One thought on “Healthy Paleo Muffins – THREE Ways!

Leave a Reply

