OOTN – Sushi Date Night

Image

 

 

Last night, after a full day of work for me and a relaxing day of lounging for Dan, my husband and I enjoyed a nice little date night. Granted, we didn’t venture too far (literally walked down the block to a sushi spot-um, I just typed “sushi part” because I was debating between “place” and “spot”…yeah-near our apartment), it was still a semi-nice place and I felt like dressing up a bit. After teaching a couple of spin classes that morning and living in workout clothes and no makeup I needed to put on a pair of jeans! 

The jeans here are from American Eagle (my GOSH their skinnies and jeggings fit me LIKE A GLOVE! Can’t say the same for any other cut of their jeans though..) and they are a beautiful oxblood color. I love both that color and its name. Like, so in love. I also adore the way oxblood compliments my current hair color. Light brown hair with a touch of blondish highlights paired with oxblood makes me so happy. I paired these jeans with my grey/taupe over the knee boots from Sam Edelman (which I purchased from Nordstrom last fall). Can I just tell you, I live in those boots all fall and winter. They deepen in color at the toe and heel; they’re sort of ombre. Swoon. Also, insanely comfortable, it’s the chunky square heel.  Lastly, I finished the jeans off with a brown woven belt from Lucky. It’s my all time favorite belt and it’s starting to fray and I haven’t been able to find one like it (I’ve found ones that look the same but are either thinner or thicker-this one is perfect) and that really scares me. 

Ok, here’s a little thing about me-I love, absolutely LOVE patterned bras under sheer tops. Not many get this, like my sister who always likes to say, “uh..Lindsay, I can see your bra“. Why, yes, yes you can, can’t you? It’s just something about that bit of naughtiness paired with the innate conservativeness of a button down. A bit of deviousness splashed into this wholesome ensemble…hey, kinda like me. I just dig it. I have so many different bras to wear under tops like this; prints, colors, lace, colored lace. I think my all time favorite is my nude lace bra. It let’s the sheerness be the star of the show and gives a sexy twist in an understated way by just showing a hint of texture. This look is much more direct and a bit more loud with the leopard bra, but I’m still into it. The bra is from Victoria’s Secret (Body by Victoria) and the top is one of those random button downs from off the racks at TJ Maxx. The brown belt helps tie in the leopard. I also paired this look with my camel colored leather Michael Kors bag. I left my hair a bit flowy and wavy with clip in extensions and sea salt spray. 

My accessories also tied in the leopard. I wore a leopard print Dooney & Burke watch, a brown stone bracelet and skull bracelet on one arm with a mixed metal bangle on the other. Since all the colors were neutral I went with a turquoise stone on gold chain necklace. I heart turquoise, especially when paired with browns and warm neutrals. 

Of course the best part of this look was pairing it with my hot date 😉

xoxo

Leave a Reply

