Snacks & Treats for Superbowl Sunday!

Superbowl Sunday is this weekend! Let me just put it out there that I do not follow football, whatsoever. HOWEVER, I always love Superbowl Sunday…I mean, it’s an excuse to get together with friends and loved ones, make and eat amazingly decadent food, have a party, scream and get crazy. Hello, what’s not to love about that?!

Last year I actually took my Spinning certification course on Superbowl Sunday! Needless to say after hours upon hours of both cycling like a madwoman and sitting in a classroom going home to a big feast of wings and chili and watching football with my then fiancé was a wonderful, well deserved treat. That was the first year we didn’t actually go anywhere or have some type of party for the Superbowl. Since Dan and I have been together one of our friends has always hosted a big party that we’ve gone to. I don’t remember if anyone actually had a party or not last year but we didn’t even look for plans since I was committed to be in the city all day. It was a miserable, cold, snowy day and traipsing around Times Square looking for the gym I had to be at was not the best time. Luckily, my instructor and fellow course-mates were all wonderful, kind people and we definitely made the best out of the day and had a great time. Now, one year later I will be teaching my own Superbowl Ride at 10:15am before the Big Game!

Dan and I realized last year that having our own “private party” at home (even though it kind of happened by default) was actually even more fun than getting dressed up, running around and awkwardly leaving early before the game even ended because we both have to work so early on Mondays (I know, we are SO social..). Therefore, we decided to host our own super special VIP Private Superbowl Party here at the Centonze Household, party of two. Yup. 

However, despite the fact that we are only a party of two my husband has ordered food for a party of twenty. I’m talking: 50 wings, waffle fries, an entire rack of ribs (I do not care for ribs so those are all on him), topped off with extra blue cheese, obviously (which I also do not care for…so, yeah). Totally necessary, right? I’m only teaching one 45 minute class Sunday, not taking 5043583025, this girl ain’t going to be that famished! although, I can house me some foods (it’s a problem). 

So, basically, due to the abundance of food we’ll be having we’ve kind of hinted to friends that they’re more than welcome to stop by. Now, we may be going to a friend’s house instead. We have no idea at the moment but options are definitely floating around. At one end of the spectrum it’s just the two of us with more than enough food, at the other end it’s more than we expected and Dan is fighting people off for ribs. So, here I am, the Queen of Abundance and always the over-prepared one making lists upon lists of extra snacks, you know, just in case. Like I said, at the one end it’s just him and me and a ridiculous boatload of food. Worse situations do exist.

As I’ve sat here rearranging my Pinterest boards (because I lead such a thrilling life) and making lists of possible Superbowl necessities I’ve decided to share my ideas! Also, it’s nice to have a go-to clickable list ready for during the week instead of flipping through my pins over and over (which only leads to one thing-making way more crap than I planned on). Not that 18 possible dishes isn’t overdoing it or anything! 

Here they are, 9 savory and 9 sweet recipes for your Superbowl Sunday Parties! Enjoy!

Savory Snacking

Image

1. Southwest Quinoa Bites – These little guys are just adorable, plus it’s always nice to have something somewhat healthy strewn among the plethora of fried, carby and fatty football snacks. 2. Pizza Monkey Bread – Come on! Literally been dying for an opportunity to make these! 3. Taco Cupcakes – Fiesta! 4. Lasagna Cupcakes – Since you’ll probably have extra wonton wrappers leftover from those Taco Cupcakes. 5. Jalapeño Popper Cheeseball – I truly believe this is necessary whether you have 2 or 20 people. Just do it. 6. Parmesan Truffle Sweet Potato Fries – No one will believe they’re healthy! 7. Snackadiums – Honestly, I probably won’t be making this but deep down I so badly wish I was. 8. Zucchini Fries – It’s the Super Bowl, there is no such thing as too many fries or dippers! 9. Bloomin’ Onion Copycat – Amazing, you could probably bake the dipped and battered onion as well, something I will for sure be trying in the future!

 

Game Day Sweeties

Image

 

1. Avalanche Bars – Don’t they have avalanches in Denver? It’s Colorado, it’s snowy, right? Make these for the Broncos! Woop! 2. Campfire Crack – So, I’ve made this before for a party and people went CRAZY over it. It was a dessert party and there were basically a million desserts but this Campfire Crack was the hands down favorite. Plus, it’s literally ridiculously easy to make. Like, microwave, one two three. Done. Make these guys, make everyone love you-forever. (No joke I’ve made new friends thanks to these bars). 3. Cherry Cheesecake Dip – Served with graham crackers I could see this being an instant hit! 4. Apple Dumplings – Portable little apple pies! Perfect for game day! 5. Football Shaped Scotcheroos – I’ve never had a scotcheroo before and I HAVE NO IDEA WHY! Any party host will be thrilled when you show up with a platter of these little cuties! 6. Funfetti Cake Batter Cheeseball – Would it be weird to show up with two cheeseballs? Can we just live by the motto that one can never have too many cheeseballs? 7. Cookie Dough Truffles – I made these for my graduation party this past Spring and they were devoured. Plus, I only brought about half as many as what I made because Dan and I literally could not keep our grubby paws away from them! 8. Funfetti Fudge – If I don’t make the Funfetti Cheeseball, these little cuties will be making an appearance! You could also use sprinkles in your favorite team’s colors! 9. Red Velvet Pull Apart Bread – Decadently wonderful.

 

So, there you have it! I’ll let you know what actually gets created from this list and feel free to share your favorite game day treats!!

xoxo

6 thoughts on “Snacks & Treats for Superbowl Sunday!

  1. Pingback: Friday Favorites | lindsayylovee

  2. Pingback: Saving Money On Superbowl Sunday | Banking and Market Watch

  3. Pingback: Super Bowl Sunday & OOTD | lindsayylovee

Leave a Reply

