fam.ILY

Image

 

It’s funny. In the earliest stages of my life my parents were everything. As a dependent infant my life depended on them, their love, their care, their protection and guidance. As a toddler I competed with my sister for their attention. As a teenager I hated them for confiscating my booze, snooping through my journal and embarrassing me in front of my friends. Although, sometimes, even as a teenager I really loved them, like when boys broke up with me and they reminded me of all my strengths and built me back up after each heart break. After college they were my best friends (sometimes my best frenemies..). Even my sister and I have been through our ups and downs but she’s one of the few people in my life I know I will always be able to count on. My grandparents and I have never been extremely close but that doesn’t mean the love isn’t strong. The only reason we weren’t closer is simply due to our physical proximity. I’ve always felt the deepest, truest love every time I’ve seen them.

Without a doubt my family and I have endured our battles. I wouldn’t say we’re dysfunctional but I’m not sure I’d consider us fully “functional” either, but at the end of the day we all love each other. When it comes down to it we always have been and always will be there for one another and would give anything for each other. I know I can always count on them and I would do anything for any one of them, no matter the circumstances. The ups and downs are a normal part of any dynamic, right? Forgiving, forgetting and moving forward in love is the challenge and it’s one I’ve recently learned to embrace. Despite the downs we’ve been through I hope my family knows how much I love them. Our past is in the past and it’s not worth holding on to because they mean too much to me to carry along negative feelings. The only thing that matters to me is the love we have and the fun we have when we are together because this time is so short. 

It’s so easy to get caught up in our own daily lives and forget the little things that are so important, like a quick phone call or a long overdue visit, as short as it may be. Sometimes just taking a moment to share your presence with a loved one is enough to remind you of all that is good in the world. Sometimes spending just a few short moments with someone can be enough to inspire you to work harder at everything in life, to be a better, happier, more loving person simply because they are such a deeply wonderful, loving person. Sometimes all you need is companionship and family to reignite yourself and come back to life.

Today I’m thankful for a wonderful afternoon spent with my loved ones, for three generations of strong, beautiful women in one room and a reminder that life is worth living and far too short to be anything less than caring, loving and happy.

Image

Leave a Reply

