Five Things I’m Grateful For

I’m grateful for an endless list of people and things every day. I try to maintain a positive outlook on life and focus on what brings me joy rather than dwell on what I dislike at the moment or something/one that makes me unhappy. Being that today is Monday, typically a day where we may feel a little down anyway since the weekend is over, I’ve decided to compile a [very brief] list of things that currently make me smile. If you’re feeling a bit bummed out perhaps this will inspire you to think of the people and things in your life that you love and lift your spirits. Even when I’m feeling extremely down I try to focus on at least one thing that I know I’m damn lucky to have, like my health. I’ve always been the most grateful for my health which is why I tend to focus on it as much as I do; I know how fleeting it can be. This time last week I was sitting on a hospital bed wondering when I’d be able to simply walk normally again. Sometimes it’s easy to take the smallest things for granted. 

Exactly one week since my incident and my toe is still wrapped up but I’m feeling infinitely better which is more than reason enough to make me smile today! So, along with that here are five other things that currently make me feel all warm and fuzzy inside:

Five Things I Am Grateful For

1. Our current weather situation!! Granted, it’s still bitterly cold. However, I’m very grateful that Mother Nature changed her mind last night and decided to grace us with a mere dusting of powder instead of the predicted 6-12 inches. THANK YOU. 

2. My sweet, sweet husband!! Never in my life has anyone ever made me feel more loved and it truly is one the greatest feelings in the world. 

Image

 

3. My family. There’s been changes to our dynamics throughout my life but at the end of the day we never stop loving each other and are always there for one another. I wish things with them were different throughout my wedding and the months leading up to it but I’m just happy that we’re finally getting back to where we used to be.

Image

 

4. My friends. Despite the fact that life sometimes gets in the way and we may not see each other as often as we’d like to we still love each other and always seem to be able to pick up wherever we last left off. My friends are one of the most amazing support systems, they’ve truly been there for me in my times of need and I hope I’ve been able to do the same for them. I truly appreciate all the friends in my life, including the friendships that have since dissolved because I truly enjoyed the time and memories we shared in those moments. 

Image

 

5. Easter candy. I know I’ve been all mushy and now I have to go and be a fat kid and talk about how much I love food. Such is my life. But, come on, Easter candy is legit. I have no shame in the fact that I look forward to Easter candy every single year, dare I say, maybe even more so than Halloween candy. Although, maybe not, because…candy corn. Anyway, I LOVE how every year I’m surprised by all these crazy new creations that come out! A few years ago was the peanut butter Snickers, last year I found Twix bunnies and carrot cake M&M’s and another year was white chocolate Reese’s and chocolate coconut Dove eggs. Please don’t even get me started on Cadbury and Reese’s EGGS. All the gum made into egg shapes, Robin’s egg malt balls and the mini pastel Cadbury candy coated chocolate eggs (ALL time favorite)!!! Stop, just stop. It’s the BEST. It’s also nostalgic and brings back great childhood memories. My family made the GREATEST Easter baskets. My mom would fill my sister and my baskets WAY past the brim, they were always overflowing. On top of that, she’d fill plastic eggs with more candy, money and other little trinkets and hide them throughout the house and backyard. Then, we’d go to my Grandma’s where she’d have the HUGEST, giant chocolate Easter bunnies made out of the most incredible belgium chocolate. Please, we’d have chocolate and candy in our house for months, but just kidding because you know we I ate that shit in a matter of days. So, yes, I still look forward to Easter candy and the nostalgia that comes with it, I make my husband an Easter basket every year (although his have since transformed from candy filled to beer and protein bar filled. Mine still require candy) and still eat candy until I’m physically ill for days after Easter. Oh, and this year the geniuses at Russell Stover rolled out with THESE:

Image

 

Happy Monday!! Feel free to share something you’re grateful for 🙂

xoxo

Leave a Reply

