Bailey’s Spiked Salted Nutella Truffles

Ok, ok, that name is a mouthful and a half BUT, these babies are legit. OH!, and dare I say, virtuous…let me explain.

Image

First of all, I’m sitting here sucking away on some hookah desperately trying to occupy myself [read: my tastebuds] so I don’t INHALE the remainder of these truffles! They are that good. But, wait, I did mention they’re virtuous right? Virtuous as in healthy? Yes. 

Wait, here me out…

“Healthy” for a dessert, but actually, kind of healthy, period.

With the exception of the booze, but like I say, everything in moderation. So, factor in the booze-still healthy. Didn’t I already warn you that I can rationalize anything?

If only I could apply this gift when discussing the monthly credit card statements with my husband…

Actually, I’m kind of getting there. Shh…

Image

MOVING ALONG! I know you didn’t come here to hear about my shopping justifications, you came here for CHOCOLATE and BOOZE! The presence of those two things will sure as hell entice me just about anywhere. I digress. Let’s talk about important things, like how and why I’m considering this treat to be healthy. First off, let’s discuss unhealthy desserts. Those things contain copious amounts of butter, sugar, trans fats, and all other nasty things that taste ridiculously delicious but leave us with less than stellar skin, tight jeans, dimples on our booties and an overall sense of feeling like poo. These little nuggets of deliciousness contain none of those things. Instead they contain ingredients that energize us with lasting fuel (minus the crash), replenish our glycogen storages without spiking our blood sugar and contain healthy fats that strengthen our hair, skin and nails. They also contain booze. Not just any booze, Bailey’s, and nowhere near enough to leave you with a hangover so what’s so bad about that?!

Image

Bailey’s Spiked Salted Nutella Truffles

Adapted from THIS awesome recipe.

Ingredients

– 1 Cup Hazelnuts (toasted)

– 3 TBSP Maple Syrup

– 1/4 Cup + 1 TBSP Bailey’s Irish Cream

– 3 TBSP Coconut Oil

– 3 TBSP Cocoa Powder

– 1 tsp Vanilla Extract

– Sea salt (for sprinkling on top)

Directions

First, process your hazelnuts, Bailey’s and maple syrup in a food processor until smooth and creamy. This took about 6-8 minutes; same process as if you were making homemade nut butter. Scrap down the sides, pulse a few times. Add your cocoa powder and vanilla; process for about a minute or two. Next, add your coconut oil and process until fully incorporated (I did another minute). At this point you should have a nice, thick homemade Bailey’s infused Nutella on your hands. You can totally stop here, jar it up in a pretty little mason jar and use it as a spread, dip or any way you like your Nutella. I totally sampled five hundred a couple spoonfuls at this point. I dare you not to. 

Next, pour your homemade boozy Nutella into a bowl, cover with plastic wrap and chill in the fridge for at least an hour. After it’s fully chilled (it should be very thick, yet still spreadable) remove the bowl from the fridge and prepare a plate or sheet pan with a nonstick surface (i.e., a piece of parchment paper or a Silpat mat). Using a small (1 1/2 TBSP) cookie scoop, scoop out even balls of the mixture and place them on your covered plate. Sprinkle truffles with a hefty pinch of sea salt.

Note: Store these babies in the freezer! The alcohol keeps them from fully hardening and when you take a bite they are still lusciously creamy and totally melt in your mouth. Keeping them in the fridge will result in a less structured truffle, but could be used as a great boozy spread! You could also freeze them and then dip them in chocolate coating, then they could be kept in the fridge or at room temp and be a soft, oozy truffle inside a crisp chocolate shell! Um, I think I may have to get on that. I’d say white chocolate covered, FTW. 

 

Hope you guys enjoy these! They’d make an awesome St. Patty’s treat! 

xox

Leave a Reply

