Oatmeal Raisin Cookies with Coconut Oil

Hello & Happy Monday! Or, if your Monday isn’t all that happy, well, here’s one thing that will probably perk it up:

get-attachment.aspx

Cookies!

Not just any cookies, oatmeal cookies…with RAISINS! and COCONUT OIL! AND COCONUT SUGAR

Are you following me here? These cookies are basically a health food. 

Well, at the very least they’re an acceptable cookie to eat on a Monday without making you feel like you’ve completely derailed yourself for the week. Right? Totally.

get-attachment.aspx

 

In full disclosure though, these cookies did not start out to be intentionally “healthy”. At all. These lil’ pretties were born yesterday after my husband surprised me with the Kitchen Aid Stand mixer of my dreams (aka, the beautiful baby pink one that might literally be the happiest looking kitchen appliance I’ve ever come across). 

On our way home from the store I had already started brainstorming what I’d break it in with. Of course, my mind went immediately to cake but then I backtracked because: 1, it was already Sunday and I really didn’t want a FULL cake lurking around my life all week; 2, there are only TWO people in this household and I already know what kind of damage we can do to an innocent cake…didn’t even want to go there; & 3, if you’re going to bake something that you know you will try to pawn off to others after you’ve tried it for yourself first, a cake really isn’t the best way to go. Like, who goes into work with a half eaten cake that literally still has fork marks in it because every time you walked past the fridge you snuck in a bite or 10? Um..yea. No cake. 

So, cookies. 

I could have sworn I had at least a half a stick of butter hiding somewhere that I was going to either melt into some dark chocolate for brownie cookies or brown for a cinnamony oat cookie. 

Well, first off, there was no dark chocolate because I devoured it all so there went the brownie idea. Then I realized that there was no butter…except for the fake stuff…which has absolutely no place in a cookie. Believe me, I’ve tried. Ugh. 

get-attachment.aspx

 

AND SO! Coconut oil it was. Because I, at all times, have an unnecessary abundance of that. I’ve made plenty of cookies with coconut oil in the past and have yet to have a bad experience with it. When they come out of the oven at first they are nicely puffed up, like in this above photo, but then as they cool they deflate into these perfectly chewy, melt in your mouth centers with a delicate, caramalized crisp edge. Also, the coconut oil doesn’t impart a coconut flavor, it just slightly changes the texture, but in the most delightful way. 

The other change I made was that I used coconut sugar instead of white sugar. Coconut sugar has a richer, deeper flavor than white sugar. It kind of has this deep caramel note that actually has a bit of a savory scent. It doesn’t impart a crazy, overwhelming sweetness on its own (like white sugar) but when mixed with brown sugar, like in this cookie, it lends the perfect balance. I also added a hefty amount of salt to balance out all the sweetness. 

Oversalting your cookies is the way to go. Trust me. 

However, there are two things I did (due to my lack of resources and utter laziness of not wanting to go to the store) that I’m going to switch up for the sake of this recipe. First, I used steele cut oats instead of rolled, because they were all I had and….eh. They really don’t do anything. They barely impart any texture and completely fade into the background. We’re going to stick with rolled oats in our cookies, k? Secondly, I used golden raisins. We eat with our eyes as much as with our mouths and golden raisins are way too close in color to the brown sugar dough; it’s like you don’t even know they’re there. We’ll stick with our regular dark raisins.

These are important things.

Enough with my rambling, here’s what counts…the recipe! Now, go forth and enjoy cookies on a Monday!

get-attachment.aspx

 

 

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies with Coconut Oil

Recipe adapted from HERE.

Ingredients:

– 1 1/2 cups All Purpose Flour

– 1 tsp Baking Soda

– 1 tsp Baking Powder

– 1 tsp Kosher Salt

– 1/2 tsp Cinnamon

– 3/4 cup Coconut Oil

– 1/2 cup Coconut Sugar

– 1/2 cup Brown Sugar, packed

– 1 Egg

– 1 Egg Yolk

– 1 1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract

– 1/2 cup Rolled Oats

– 1/3 cup Raisins

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with Silpat or parchment paper sprayed with nonstick cooking spray and set aside. 

In a large bowl sift or whisk together flour, baking soda and powder, cinnamon and salt. Set aside.

In the bowl of an electric mixer, cream together on high the coconut oil and sugars for 3-4 minutes, stopping to scrape down the sides, until the ingredients fully come together. After that, add in the egg and egg yolk, one at a time, mixing after each until fully incorporated. Next, add in vanilla extract, mix until fully combined. 

Next, pour in 1/2 the flour mix into your wet ingredients. Mix on low until just combined. Add the rest of the flour and mix on low until just combined (do not over mix!). 

Finally, add in your raisins and oats and mix by hand with a spatula just to incorporate.

[ This dough can make cookies of two different sizes. I did one batch of 1/4 cup sized balls of dough and one batch of 1 1/2 tbsp sized balls. I did not refrigerate the dough before baking. I think coconut oil cookies come out better when the dough is baked from room temperature, that’s how I was able to get the soft middles with extra crispy edges. I’ve baked coconut oil cookies where the dough has been refrigerated and they do not spread or flatten, they hold the shape and are soft from center to edges. ]

For 1/4 cup sized cookies, bake in a 350 degree preheated oven for 12-15 minutes, or until edges are crisp and golden and centers are set. 

For 1 1/2 tbsp sized cookies, bake in a 350 degree preheated oven for 10-13 minutes, or until edges are golden and centers are set.

For both sized cookies, once they come out of the oven let them sit on the warm baking sheet for up to 10 minutes before transferring them to a cooling rack to finish cooling.

Store at room temperature; they also freeze beautifully!

 

Enjoy!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

