Weekend Reflections; A Weekend in the Sun

Sometimes the last weekend before Labor Day sends us into a panic mode; there’s only one more week of summer. Of course, if you’re in school or you have kids, that’s somewhat true. School typically starts up after Labor Day and though the weather is still warm those lazy, free days have come to an end. I kind of started this weekend with an underlying notion of just that feeling. I felt an urge to spend every day at the beach and check off the rest of my summer bucket list. However, the weekend in the sun did just the opposite. Instead of running through a list of “summer to-dos” I pretty much forgot everything and enjoyed life. Labor Day does not mark the end of summer…summer actually has an end date and it’s about a month away! So, I took a deep breath, relaxed and simply enjoyed the days in the sun, the cotton candy sunset skies and time spent with my husband and friends.

On Saturday afternoon my family lost our beloved Aunt Nancy. She was a woman whom I never saw without a (perfectly lined and lipsticked) smile on her face. She was constantly full of joy and excited about life and the people she loved. She loved her family and whenever she saw us she would grab us so tight and make sure we knew just how much we meant to her. On Sunday morning my husband and I went to the beach and while we were there I made a point to remember Nancy. Her memory helped me appreciate every little ounce of beauty and love that was present. I stared out at the vastness of the sea and pondered on how small I really am and how fleeting time is. It’s so important to live each day to the fullest and enjoy every minute, every second. When Dan and I dipped our feet into the Atlantic Ocean, it was cold, but we dove in so fast that we forgot about the temporary discomfort of the initial chill. I had the best time catching waves with him, floating out in the ocean hugging my legs around my husband and laughing so hard. It was such a great day that by the time we got home we both completely passed out. I slept from 7:15 last night until I woke up around 7 this morning. Something I never do! This week my focus is to live in the moment and cherish every last one.

 

 

Friday lunch with a friend at The Grey Dog.

get-attachment.aspx

 

 

A vibrant summer manicure.

 

get-attachment.aspx

 

 

My new favorite spot in the city.

get-attachment.aspx

 

Salty blonde waves.

get-attachment.aspx

 

My favorite color palette.

get-attachment.aspx

 

My new buddy.

get-attachment.aspx

 

Date night ootd.

get-attachment.aspx

 

Saturday dinner at one of my favorite restaurants.

get-attachment.aspx

 

Dinner view.

get-attachment.aspx

 

Enjoying a blue Coronarita…and, ok, this was a check off from the summer bucket list. 

get-attachment.aspx

 

My favorite dude.

get-attachment.aspx

 

Cotton candy sunset on the sand.

get-attachment.aspx

 

Froyo, aka $16.00 worth of topping bar.

get-attachment.aspx

 

Sunday morning sunrise over the Atlantic.

get-attachment.aspx

 

Our playground.

get-attachment.aspx

 

A view I’ll never tire of.

get-attachment.aspx

 

Sunday Funday in the sand.

get-attachment.aspx

 

A storm earlier in the week left its mark.

get-attachment.aspx

 

A Sunday morning photo that I will be framing.

get-attachment.aspx

 

Hope you all have a beautiful and fulfilled week & remember, it’s not Summer’s last!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

