Apple Pie Stuffed Baked Apples

Happy first day of FALL!

get-attachment.aspx

Yesterday my husband and I celebrated the start of the season by driving about 45 minutes upstate to go apple picking! It’s one of the best late summer/early fall traditions that I’ve been doing every year since I can remember. If you go at the right time, the drive is the BEST part because it’s incredibly scenic and the foliage is breathtaking.

get-attachment.aspx

The ride back is equally stunning, but a bit more exciting as your mind goes crazy thinking up all the different things you can do with your hand picked loot. While my husband had his heart set on baking up his famous Apple Crisp, I was determined to finally make these baked apples! The idea of baking an apple pie into an actual apple came from one of the very first images I ever pinned, several years ago when I first got hooked on Pinterest.

get-attachment.aspx

I had originally wanted to make these as a Thanksgiving dessert but decided they were probably a bit too labor intensive for a large crowd. I mean, it’s certainly doable but…I’m lazy.

Making these for two was perfect! I used a pre-made pie crust (thanks, Pillsbury!) and weaved a sloppy rustic lattice topping. To give them a little extra flavor pop I mixed Hershey’s Cinnamon Chips into the filling. I just might add these chips into every apple pie I ever make…oh my gosh, so good.

get-attachment.aspx

They really are a beautiful little dessert. Instead of a slab (or two, or six..) of pie, everyone gets their own individual little baked apple filled with cinnamony decadence! As detailed as they seem, it really wasn’t all that difficult to make. I sliced the top of the apple off (about a third of the way down from the stem), then I scored the insides with a knife and scooped it out with a metal spoon. I also enjoyed a pumpkin beer throughout the process, complete with a cinnamon sugar rimmed glass. Priorities.

get-attachment.aspx

After I removed the scored insides of the apples I rubbed the hollowed apples with lemon juice. I added the apple bits to a bowl, tossed them in lemon juice then added cinnamon, coconut sugar and cinnamon chips. I spooned the filling back into the apples, dropped a few tiny pieces of butter on top and covered them with pie crust!

get-attachment.aspx

The crust was brushed with egg wash and generously sprinkled with white sugar which caramelized (do you say CAR-mah-lized or CA-RAH-MA-lized? I say the latter and am made fun of relentlessly.) in the oven and a gorgeous, sweet, crunchy topping.

get-attachment.aspx

I can’t think of a better way to kick off everyone’s favorite season!

get-attachment.aspx

Apple Pie Stuffed Baked Apples

Ingredients:

  • 2 Medium sized apples
  • 3 tsp lemon juice
  • 3 tsp coconut sugar
  • 1 tbsp white sugar
  • 3 tbsp Hershey’s Cinnamon Chips
  • 1/2 tbsp butter
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 prepared or home made pie crust
  • 1 egg

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a small baking sheet with foil and spray with non stick cooking spray and set aside. Slice to top off two apples (About a third of the way down from the stem). Score the inside of the apple with a sharp knife (like you’re making a checkerboard pattern). Next, using a metal spoon, scoop the inside out. Keep about a 1/4-1/2 inch of the apple. Chop up your apple innards into small cubes and toss in a medium sized bowl with 1 tsp of lemon juice. Rub one tsp of lemon juice into each hollowed out apple. Next, mix the coconut sugar, cinnamon and cinnamon chips in with the apples. Place your hollowed apples on the baking sheet and fill to the top with apple-sugar mixture. Cut your cold butter into tiny cubes and drop equal amounts on the tops of each filled apples. Cut 1/3 of prepared (or home made) pie crust into thin strips. Braid strips along top of apple in a lattice pattern. Or, you can simply drop a round cut out of pie crust over the top and punch a few wholes in the middle!

Whisk the egg in a bowl. Using a pastry brush, brush the mixed egg generously over the top of the pie crust. Sprinkle liberally with sugar. Bake apples for 18-20 minutes, or until the pie crust is golden and apples are very soft. Let cool 10-15 minutes and ENJOY!!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

