Weekend Reflections: First Day of Fall

Sadly, the summer has come to an end. However, as much as I love the summer I’m happy to welcome Autumn. The summer warmth tends to linger around for a good month or so even as a chill makes its way in. Fall is definitely my second favorite season. In fact, if I could live in a world with only two seasons where half the year was summer (with short shorts, neon colors, beaches, salty hair and extended sunsets) and the other half autumn (cool breezes, vibrantly colored changing foliage and an endless supply of scarves and all things pumpkin) I’d be the happiest girl. I love to get the most out of this season and try my best to extend it as long as possible before the harshness of winter hits. This time last year Dan and I were exactly one week away from our wedding! I was running around doing things like getting my hair colored, picking up my wedding dress and doing all the last minute packing. It was a very stressful time but also incredibly exciting! This weekend it was so nice to reflect on the happiness and chaos of one year ago over a calming dinner at home and velvety glass of red wine. Along with reminiscing we went apple picking and kick started some fall baking! Here are some shots from our weekend. Hope you enjoy and that yours was just as fun and festive!

Quite possible my ultimate favorite thing about Fall.

get-attachment.aspx

Like…kind of obsessed..

get-attachment.aspx

Spotted while shopping on Friday afternoon.

get-attachment.aspx

I love sipping hot tea in the fall, especially in giant, endless mugs and this one is perfection for just that.

get-attachment.aspx

This peanut butter is OUT OF CONTROL good.

get-attachment.aspx

Finally, the people in coffee creamer land have heard my calls and have made creamer that is BOTH fat AND sugar free! I might have screamed in the grocery store…maybe just a little baby screech..

get-attachment.aspx

Saturday outfit for apple picking…fully embracing scarf season.

get-attachment.aspx

A cart full of mini pumpkins and colorful gourds is a beautiful sight.

get-attachment.aspx

This shot just screams Fall.

get-attachment.aspx

Love, love, love apple season.

get-attachment.aspx

The traditional yearly selfie on the hayride.

get-attachment.aspx

Naturally, we had to pick up some pumpkin beer. This one from Dogfish Head may be my new favorite.

get-attachment.aspx

With a cinnamon sugar rimmed glass, it is perfection.

get-attachment.aspx

Our stash from the orchard:

get-attachment.aspx

Along with some farm fresh fudge…S’mores and Cookie Dough.

get-attachment.aspx

I wanted to take this lil’ dude home with me.

get-attachment.aspx

Afternoon pick-me-up; iced cappuccino with almond milk.

get-attachment.aspx

I know this juice is meant to be a healthy snack, but mixed with Sailor Jerry’s Spiced Rum it makes the BEST rum punch of my life.

get-attachment.aspx

I wanted to do some seasonal decorating, but we’re having some work done in the apartment this week so the most I could do was this table setting.

get-attachment.aspx

Speaking of the work being done..it means I have NO access to my coffee maker! This cold brew from The Fresh Market has been the most delicious life saver.

get-attachment.aspx

The first day of fall warrants the lighting of this fabulous new candle. It smells like a toasty fire lit on a crisp Halloween night. I can smell the crunchy orange leaves on the ground and candy corn in the air. It is perfection.

get-attachment.aspx

Sunday morning was a rainy but still warm enough for a morning walk and iced coffees.

get-attachment.aspx

Sunday breakfast…too much yet?

get-attachment.aspx

I hope you had a wonderful weekend and are enjoying the start of Fall and eating everything pumpkin flavored! 🙂

xoxoxo

3 thoughts on “Weekend Reflections: First Day of Fall

  1. I live in your area and I really appreciate your mentioning that cold brew coffee from Fresh Market! I am really excited to try it out. Have a great week. 🙂 Also want to mention that I love your blog voice and think you’re a great writer.

      • Sure it’s my pleasure. Thanks for providing great blog content. 🙂 I haven’t gotten to try it yet. I either have to hit up Fresh Market on the way home from work (when I usually tell myself I am too exhausted to make a stop) or on the weekend. I am going there this weekend and will let you know what I think. That Flax Milk looks good as well! I love how Fresh Market carries obscure and cool brands. I adore the Clearly Kobucha that they carry. The Chai Cola flavor is unreal.

Leave a Reply

