Pumpkin Crumb Pie with Fresh Roasted Pumpkin

I don’t think I’ll ever buy canned pumpkin again.

get-attachment.aspx

First off, making your own pumpkin puree is as easy as roasting any other squash. Can someone tell me what was so intimidating about this? Secondly, fresh pumpkin puree is SO delicious you can eat it straight up with a spoon before adding any spices. I mean, technically you can eat canned pumpkin puree straight from the can but without any added spices or sweeteners, it’s not the most pleasant experience. Roasting the fresh squash in the oven caramelizes the flesh and brings out its natural sweetness.

get-attachment.aspx

As my pumpkin was roasting my mind was racing of what I could make it into. Sooooo many pumpkin recipes this time of year! I decided it was best to keep it simple and make a pie. I really wanted to let the pumpkin shine, melding only with a few ingredients that would elevate and enhance its flavor.

However, I’m me and when have you ever known me to be simple?

So, naturally, I topped my pie with a brown butter cinnamon oat crumb topping. #worthit

get-attachment.aspx

I’m telling you…fresh roasted pumpkin puree is where it’s AT. It’s as simple as a few quick chops and turning on your oven. PLUS your pumpkin comes FILLED with seeds that you can also roast to make a second yummy little snack!

Does your can of Libby’s come with fresh roasted pumpkin seeds?

That’s what I thought.

get-attachment.aspx

So go ahead, take the plunge and roast your own pumpkin!! You will literally impress the pants off of everyone you serve this pie to when you tell them you made your own pumpkin puree…from an actual pumpkin. Seriously, they’ll be so impressed, they won’t even notice that your pie crust came courtesy of Pillsbury.

get-attachment.aspx

Pumpkin Crumb Pie with Fresh Roasted Pumpkin

NOTE: I make my crumb topping FIRST and let it sit in the fridge so the flavors can come together and it can cool down. This pie bakes for 25-30 minutes or until the center is firm, in a 350 degree preheated oven.

* To roast my pumpkin, I used a small organic pie pumpkin from my local supermarket. They will be in the produce section and labeled as either “sugar” or “pie” pumpkin. Typically there is a sign denoting that they are to be used for baking. I followed Ree’s super simple instructions found HERE.

* The crust for this pie was a Pillsbury pie crust straight from my grocery store’s refrigerated section. I let it come to room temperature before pressing it into a greased pie dish. I stabbed it with a fork a few times in the center and blind baked it in a 350 degree oven for 10 minutes, before pouring the filling in and baking it again.

* To make the filling I followed the filling recipe from THESE bars. I used one cup of my puree. Dan and I ate the rest with a spoon straight from the food processor.

Brown Butter Crumb Topping

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup (one stick) butter, browned
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • heavy pinch of salt

Directions:

Melt stick of butter in a pan over medium heat. Once it is melted, continue to cook over medium whisking constantly. You will notice the butter begin to darken and see dark spots appearing at the bottom. Those dark spots are everything, they are the FLAVOR. You want to scrape the bottom of the pan with your whisk, mixing the dark specs around the butter. Continue to whisk until the butter is deeply browned and fragrant. It will smell almost like toffee and roasted hazelnuts. That’s how you know it’s ready. Don’t worry about leaving it on too long. I almost always “burn” my butter. The darker it is, the more flavorful.

Turn off the heat, set butter aside to cool a bit.

In a medium sized bowl combine flour, sugar, cinnamon and salt in a bowl and whisk together until all are incorporated. Next, stir in rolled oats.

Finally, pour melted brown butter over the flour mixture and mix with your hands to combine. This will create a crumbled topping. It’s ok if some pieces are bigger than others!

This mixture gets sprinkled all over the top of the pie before baking!

Enjoy! xoxo

One thought on “Pumpkin Crumb Pie with Fresh Roasted Pumpkin

  1. Pingback: Weekend Reflections; Hello, October! | lindsayylovee

Leave a Reply

