Weekend Reflections; Hello, October!

The weather completely threw a wrench into our plans this weekend, however we made the most of it. Regardless of how stormy our Saturday was this weekend marks, well, probably the best weekend since our wedding!! I WISH I could ramble on about it endlessly here, but unfortunately I have to keep it a secret for a little longer. It won’t be too long though and as soon as I can share you know I will word vomit ALL OVER this little site. Until then, let’s recap the first weekend of this October.

The beginning of October is always spent celebrating my mother in law’s birthday which lands on the 4th. We celebrated with her on Sunday with a family lunch at their home. Saturday Dan and I had plans to see the Haunted Pumpkin Garden at the Botanical Gardens with friends, however, my friend and I were both pretty sick and it was POURING rain. Two sick chicks walking around outdoors did not sound ideal. Saturday was one of those dark, rainy days that warranted nothing but cuddling and watching movies, which was precisely what we did. With the addition of putting up some more seasonal decorations, ordering what seemed like a full trough of pasta (oh gosh, it was soooo good though), roasting a pumpkin and turning it into the most sinfully decadent pumpkin pie. Despite the fact that I was a bit under the weather I still completed my training run (yes outside, it surprisingly made me feel better-don’t try that at home, though). My mileage is creeping up and I am definitely feeling it. I’ve always considered myself an endurance athlete but spinning has helped me build so much strength in my legs and while my power has increased my endurance seems to be lacking. I can sprint faster and stronger than ever in my life but now running any more than 10 miles (which I used to be able to do effortlessly) is a bit more of a struggle than I’m used to. My runs are now well over 2 hours long so next weekend I’m going to bring some gummies with me for energy and see if they help to get over this speed bump in my training.

Kitchen towels are one of my many weaknesses.

get-attachment.aspx

My favorite October decorations! Love them.

get-attachment.aspx

Coffee table gourds.

get-attachment.aspx

New finds from The Fresh Market. I heard about these Perfect Bars from the Girls Gone WOD Podcast (which a friend of mine got me into and basically, if you’re a chick you NEED to listen to it!! Can’t get enough of these ladies) and they are SO DELISH. They are dense and super rich tasting. Kind of like if you put a blondie in the refrigerator…mmmm. They are kept in the refrigerated section. That pumpkin butter was a necessary impulse buy. I had it for breakfast this morning on a toasted slice of cinnamon raisin Ezekial toast, topped with a sprinkle of cinnamon.

get-attachment.aspx

If you’re a candy corn fan like me, DON’T BUY THESE. The entire bag will be gone halfway through one RHONJ episode…not that I would know anything about that. 

get-attachment.aspx

More decorations! This fun little Jack-O-Lantern dish was a Target dollar bin find! The candy corn Hershey bars…well, candy corn. 

get-attachment.aspx

I’m addicted.

get-attachment.aspx

To balance out all the candy corn and candy corn products I ingest..there’s this. Honestly though, move over almond milk.

get-attachment.aspx

When the grocery store has a make your own six pack option, you taste test every pumpkin beer available.

get-attachment.aspx

I’m torn between the Blue Moon and Smuttynose.

get-attachment.aspx

Snacking on brown sugar-maple-spiced roasted pumpkin seeds.

get-attachment.aspx

Am I overwhelming you with pumpkin shit yet?

get-attachment.aspx

How about now? [yes, that’s a pumpkin wine charm. And yes that’s a GLITTER stand mixer Christmas ornament. AKA greatest ornament ever.]

get-attachment.aspx

Sunday sunlit selfie.

get-attachment.aspx

Birthday cake!

get-attachment.aspx

This picture doesn’t even do it justice but we picked up a bag of honey crisps this weekend and they’re the most giant honey crisps EVER. Words can’t explain how happy this makes me. #honeycrispsforLIFE

get-attachment.aspx

Our festive front entryway.

get-attachment.aspx

I hope you’ve all had a great start to your October!! Don’t forget to eat ALL the pumpkin, candy corn and apple EVERYTHING! xoxox

Leave a Reply

