OOTD for Fall Sports Games

A few weeks ago I was contacted by the lovely people at Fanatics.com about game day style. This warmed my heart because I loved knowing that I am not alone in being someone who actually puts a lot of thought into what she wears to a game!

get-attachment.aspx

My husband and I went to the Yankee game about a month ago and because we went on a weeknight I had to meet him at the stadium straight from work. The night before I was rummaging through my closet, trying on an assortment of tops and jackets while consistently checking the weather. After I packed two different selections of outfits my husband looked at me like I was a crazy person. His response?

“Babe, it’s just a game.”

Oh. Wait, does that mean I can’t look cute?

Absolutely not! Of course, at a game you definitely don’t want to be over dressed, but there’s no reason why you can’t spruce up a comfy pair of leggings and support your team in a fun, casual, yet still slightly sexy outfit. Now, here’s why I totally dig Fanatics.com…..they were all about the HATS.

You probably won’t catch me at a game in a jersey or t-shirt but a hat is a go to for me. I love that a hat still shows your team spirit while letting you also showcase your style with the rest of your outfit. Fanatics.com asked me to chose one of their hats and plan an outfit around it  that I would wear to a game. Well, let’s get to it!

I chose the Derek Jeter New York Yankees New Era Rings 39THIRTY Flex Hat.

thumb.aspx

I chose this one because, well, Yankees…duh. Also, I loved the special edition Jeter hat with his number on the back since this was his final season. He was an incredible player and the first team member I would want to show love for! I went with the Flex hat over the fitted because it is a little more laid back and I find the rounded visor to be more flattering on my face. I like to wear mine slightly off to the side.

When I go to baseballs games I’m all about being comfortable so leggings are almost always my go-to, and I plan the rest of my outfit around them. Here is a typical game day look that looks pretty sweet with our Flex Hat:

get-attachment.aspx

My legging of choice are the Lululemon Wunder Under Roll Downs. They’re incredibly comfy and the roll down waist never digs into my sides. I also love the length because I tend to go to evening games and it can get a little chilly at night. These are long enough to keep me warm and if it’s too hot, I can always roll them up from the ankle.

Tank tops are my best friend but I like ones with a little something extra to elevate the simple ribbed, fitted tank. I have several of these flowy butterfly back tanks and they’re the perfect top to wear to a game! One of my favorite things about going out to the game is the food so considering the fact that I’m most likely going to eat my face off, flowy tops are ideal! I’m in love with the ones that split open in the back so I can show a little skin without being too in your face sexy.

I think I’ve worn my beloved distressed denim jacket to every game I’ve gone to. It’s live-in comfortable and cropped so when paired with an open back tank it perfectly showcases your pop of skin!

get-attachment.aspx

I know comfortable shoes for many people is sneakers, but for me it’s flip flops. A game day look is not complete without a pair of Havianas. With this look I would throw on my navy blue pair to match the hat!

Of course, no look is complete without accessories! As you can see in the above photo, which is from a Yankee game last spring, I like to layer on a few long necklaces. Along with that I love a good bangle stack and giant hoop earrings. I cannot wear a baseball hat without big, gold hoops. That combination makes me feel like I’m channeling my inner J.Lo and I love it.

get-attachment.aspx

When my hair is dark I adore wearing it straight under a hat and letting the hoops stand out.

Next time you go to a game I hope this OOTD helps with your planning and gives you a little inspiration! Sporty CAN be cute, stylish AND feminine! Hats are a GREAT way to show your team pride and accessorize your look. Be sure to check out Fanatics.com for your game day looks. They have merchandise for literally every team from every single sport, not just baseball. Also, as the weather gets cooler be sure to check out their awesome selection of Beanies!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

