Weekend Reflections; Our Last Weekend Alone

I hope that title isn’t too confusing, what I mean is that….our family is growing!

No, not pregnant! We are adopting though; a sweet little Boston Terrier puppy!! We are picking him up from the airport (he’s being flown in from his out of state breeder) THIS Friday! My husband and I were very reflective this weekend and took the time to be together and enjoy each other’s company. We know that things will shift and change when our little guy comes and as excited as we are, we’re also a bit nervous. Dan pointed out that we’ll never really have alone time again and I guess, in a way, it’s bittersweet. However, I did have to laugh when he mentioned, “it’s not like we can just go to the city for the day…you know, go to a museum and walk around and go out to dinner and be gone all day. We can’t do that”. I laughed because we’ve literally never done that. I understand what he was saying but we’re pretty big home bodies. He works crazy hours during the week and while my career may not be quite as time consuming it is physically demanding so by the time the weekend comes we’re both tired and aching for some down time. Nevertheless, we spent this weekend focusing on each other and the precious last weekend we will be spending alone, just the two of us before we become three. We went to a few different pet stores to stock up on toys, treats and necessities for him to come home to. My heart melted into a puddle on the floor as I watched my husband set up the puppy’s dining area with the bowls he picked out. Is that considered nesting? Maybe my ovaries are just overly sensitive right now but watching him so lovingly prepare for this puppy has been one of the cutest things I’ve ever seen.

On the downside of this weekend, I busted up one of my toes…AGAIN. Wednesday night I crashed my foot into our living room chair (on one of it’s heavy, solid wood legs) and not only dislocated it (AGAIN) but tore some tendons as well. The pain was equivalent to the last time, but worse. Oh, and bonus, IT WAS THE SAME EXACT TOE. Unfortunately the ER was packed and understaffed so I waiting in agony for over two hours before the doctor finally saw me and gave me a few percocets to ease the pain while I waited even MORE. He injected my toe to numb it and popped the toe back into place, only he was nowhere near as gentle as the last doctor I had. His adjustment strained my torn tendon further so my foot was incredibly sore and swollen for the remainder of the week and weekend. I missed two days of work and hobbled around in my own self pity searching for my feelings at the bottom of a couple boxes of cereal, a bowl of cookie dough and a jar of peanut butter. I’m still a bit sore, though feeling much better and seem to be coming out of this pity party. Sometimes it’s so hard not to wallow but I have such an exciting weekend to look forward to that I am forcibly picking myself back up and snapping out of it! That packed ER did give me some much needed perspective, I am incredibly lucky that I was only there for a little toe…I shouldn’t be feeling sorry for myself when I have so much to be thankful for.

When painful things happen, like a busted toe, sometimes you just want your mom…and pumpkin waffles to share with her.

get-attachment.aspx

My husband got me this little pumpkin man (his name is Peter Pumpkin) as a Halloween gift which came JUST in time to cheer me up.

get-attachment.aspx

Gorgeous scenery on a beautiful fall Saturday afternoon.

get-attachment.aspx

My favorite trees are the bright red and orange ones that look like a blaze of flames.

get-attachment.aspx

Saturday afternoon spent with my husband exploring the Washington Irving House in Irvington and learning more about The Legend of Sleepy Hollow & The Headless Horseman

get-attachment.aspx

A good hair day is so rare that it calls for a double-selfie.

get-attachment.aspx

Perfect autumn scene.

get-attachment.aspx

Thursday and Friday were spent drawing and painting to keep me still yet entertained.

get-attachment.aspx

Feelings.

get-attachment.aspx

The most beautiful, serene spot on Saturday’s “Spooky Tour”…I wish I could live here.

get-attachment.aspx

A beer I actually enjoyed…it tastes like a snicker doodle!

get-attachment.aspx

You know you’re a baker at heart when you make your pizza like this….

get-attachment.aspx

Our Saturday night Pizza War…he made traditional with turkey pepperoni and I made a sauceless slice with ricotta, truffle honey, portabellas and fresh thyme. We tied.

get-attachment.aspx

My swollen foot (this was 3 days after the initial hit, it was looking much better) and pretty foliage.

get-attachment.aspx

Sketching out some tattoo ideas for a friend.

get-attachment.aspx

My husband’s bowl set up for the pup.

get-attachment.aspx

And one last shot of the beauty that was this weekend…and the backside of my favorite person 😉

get-attachment.aspx

Hope you all had a great weekend and are enjoying this outstanding weather and all the breathtaking colors of the season!

xoxo

One thought on “Weekend Reflections; Our Last Weekend Alone

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Skillet Bread | lindsayylovee

Leave a Reply

