One Year & Whole Wheat Pumpkin Walnut Pancakes

One year and two days ago (yup, I’m two days late with this post..typical) I started this little blog.

get-attachment.aspx

Honestly, I didn’t anticipate still being here and writing consistently a year a later. I wasn’t sure what was going to happen with it. When I started out writing about organization tips I wasn’t sure of what direction this blog would go in and I’m still not 100% sure, but I quickly realized that that didn’t matter too much.

get-attachment.aspx

I started this after I had just gotten back from my honeymoon and realized the change that had occurred in my life. For the first time ever I was no longer a student. After two years of planning, there was no longer a wedding to work on. Part time jobs were an addition to an already incredibly busy life consisting of commuting back and forth to the city for class, seemingly endless reading and writing assignments, consuming tedious wedding planning tasks and strict fitness regimens while training for competitions, races, and whatever else. All of a sudden all of that was gone, my part time job was all I had and while I enjoyed it, it suddenly seemed mindless. Nothing was igniting me and I wasn’t working towards anything I felt passionate about. With a newly attained masters degree and all this education behind me I was stuck with no clue of my purpose or what I wanted to do.

get-attachment.aspx

Finally, I decided that that was a decision I didn’t need to make right.that.second. I just needed to find my passion. So, I started this blog. Not out of boredom but out of the need and yearning to write and be creative. I figured if I had a consistent creative outlet, something could come out of it. I started this blog in November when I tend to be quite busy in the kitchen cooking and baking for the holidays. All the recipes starting coming and I was getting great positive feed back from my friends and family who followed along. I had fun doing it too. I love cooking/baking but what I love the most is sharing it. I didn’t really want this to be a food blog because I’m not always in the mood to cook and I didn’t want to feel pressured to do something I wasn’t feeling for the sake of a blog post. So, I followed my heart and wrote about what I was in the mood to write about when it hit. Sometimes it was a recount of a shopping trip, makeup tips, DIYingorganization tips, cleaning out my pantry or pointing out a really great find. I tried to do weekly recaps with Friday Faves but after a bit I found that I was scrambling to find things that were my “favorites” and ended up dropping those posts. Soon enough Weekend Reflections started and that’s a post I look forward to at the beginning of each week. It’s a great way for me to reflect on positive things, savor the time spent with loved ones and start the week on a happy, reflective, thankful note.

So, whether you’ve been tagging along from the start or have just recently popped over to this little corner of the internet, thank you. Thank you for reading along, thank you texting me to talk about a post or to tell me that you will or have made one of my recipes. That is hands down the best thing that has come out of this year of blogging. I have connected with friends in a whole new way thanks to this little blog. I am an open book here and it’s been pretty damn cool to have people who were once an acquaintance reach out and become a friend simply because we connected through something mentioned here. It’s given me strength to be more open with people and be more confident in being myself and speaking from my heart. I’ve made these same new connections even with people who I was close with before the blog. I’ve made friends with incredibly awesome people that I may not know in real life but have connected with through blogging. These connections were the last thing I anticipated a year ago when I started this journey but honestly, they are the primary thing that keeps me here. Whether we talk through email, comments, texts or in person, I am so happy to have gotten to know you more and on a deeper level throughout this year.

get-attachment.aspx

So for all of you I want to share a special recipe, a breakfast recipe.

Why? Because breakfast has always felt like the most intimate meal to me. Really, we pretty much share breakfast with people for one of two reasons:

  1. We spent the night together, woke up in the same vicinity and shared our first meal together. This goes for romantic relationships, friendships, or a really good drunken night out where we all groggily woke up on the same living room floor/couch/sidewalk.
  2. We didn’t spend the night but we care enough about each other to actually wake up early and leave the house to meet them out for breakfast. I have a hard enough time waking up for myself, so if I meet you out for breakfast or brunch, it’s because I really, really dig you 🙂

So, this is my way of telling you I care about you. Let’s share our Saturday morning breakfast. Here is a plate of warm, fluffy pancakes to tell you thank you for being a friend! I hope you enjoy them and here’s a virtual Mimosa cheers to all of you!! xoxo

get-attachment.aspx

Whole Wheat Pumpkin Walnut Pancakes

Inspired by THIS recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tbsp coconut sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • pinch salt
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • scant 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 1/2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 egg

Directions:

In a medium sized bowl whisk together all your dry ingredients. In a small bowl, mix together the wet ingredients [almond milk through egg]. Stir wet ingredients into the dry with a rubber spatula, don’t over mix. Heat a flat top griddle pan over medium-low heat. Drop a hefty scoop of batter on to the griddle and cook until the pancake starts to puff up and small bubbles appear around the edges (2-3 minutes). Flip and cook another 2-3 minutes for the opposite side.

Serve warm with maple and coconut syrup and enjoy!

xoxox

Leave a Reply

