Weekend Reflections; Thankful

Thanksgiving has come and gone and without even a second to take a breath, BAM it’s Christmas! We aren’t getting our tree until Saturday and that’s when we will do our decorating. I feel so behind! I’m the girl who still has pumpkins in her window. Rotting pumpkins, mind you.

Stepping back for just a moment, Thanksgiving was wonderful and I’m so glad I got to share the long weekend with all my loved ones. I literally got to spend the day with my ENTIRE family. I spent the early morning with my work family at BFX teaching a killer Turkey Burn and indulging in pie and Chestnut Praline Lattes for breakfast with my team. Then I raced over to my in laws for appetizers before booking it to my parents’ house to enjoy Thanksgiving dinner with them, my sister, my grandma and her angel of a caretaker, CeCe. Finally, I came home and spent the night snuggling (and digesting/popping Tums like Tic-Tacs) with Dan and Gatsby. The only way the day could have been better would have been if there was twice as much time so I could have spent more time with everyone instead of having to race around. Regardless, it was a day full of love, joy, great food and even a little sweat. On Friday morning Dan and I loaded up the car, grabbed our pup and headed off to Newport, Rhode Island for our annual weekend getaway. We had such a great time that I’ve decided to cover Newport in its own post; too much fun in one weekend for one post, I can’t complain about that!

The weekend really started on Wednesday night. Dan and I spent the day shopping for last minute ingredients and ended up coming home with this…which I’m just going to say is the BEST holiday find EVER. A glass of this with a splash of vanilla Shipwreck rum..times 4 or 5, maybe.

get-attachment.aspx

My sister and I love to laugh at Gatsby’s insanely expressive faces, and after seeing this one we’ve decided that he is the puppy version of this emoji. 

get-attachment.aspx

Holiday ready nails! The color combo looks random, but in my head this reminds me of tinsel on a Christmas tree.

get-attachment.aspx

Thanksgiving Eve used to mean going out and drinking until puking or blacking out, but now it means a night in with my family and the start of holiday baking. Am I officially an adult?

get-attachment.aspx

Driving around for last minute holiday errands..in the messiest snowstorm. 

get-attachment.aspx

Wednesday night I walked Gatsby passed my friend’s phenomenal restaurant and left with delicious carrot cake cupcakes.

get-attachment.aspx

First up on holiday baking: Julie’s ridiculously delicious pineapple soufflé. I totally understand why this girl looks forward to this all year. 

get-attachment.aspx

Fuel for Thanksgiving morning at the studio: a tray of Chestnut Praline Lattes (worth every calorie) and pineapple soufflé. 

get-attachment.aspx

The BFX girls brought Thanksgiving dinner to the studio…but, for breakfast. 

get-attachment.aspx

Holidays mean morning snuggles in bed.

get-attachment.aspx

My class destroyed their workout Thursday morning. Thanksgiving dinner didn’t stand a chance against the calories torched during BURN.

get-attachment.aspx

Thanksgiving dinner at my parents’. I love my mom’s abundance of turkeys. Pretty much everything on her table was shaped like either a turkey or a pumpkin. 

get-attachment.aspx

Chocolate turkeys in front of a pile of turkey.

get-attachment.aspx

Endless spread at my mom’s.

get-attachment.aspx

When it comes to pie, Chewy gets VERY possessive.

get-attachment.aspx

Driving around with lil’ man making all the stops on Thursday.

get-attachment.aspx

My mom would have the ultimate selfie mirror. Leggings and a loose top is the only thing I wear on holidays…for obvious reasons. 

get-attachment.aspx

My mom is the queen of favors and she didn’t disappoint with these. Tiny coffee cup shaped candles filled with mocha scented wax! Adore. 

get-attachment.aspx

Friday morning, after a quick trip to the gym together, we grabbed Gatsby and headed off to Newport! Perfect end to a wonderful holiday and a beautiful weekend spent with my little family. 

get-attachment.aspx

Hope your holiday was wonderful and your bellies were filled! Now the countdown to Christmas begins!! I’ll be back to post a Newport recap, some December goals and of course, a holiday baking list!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

