Browned Butter Snicker Doodles

More and more I’m realizing that I am my mother’s daughter.

get-attachment.aspx

I embrace glitter eyeliner, glitter nail polish, glitter blush…and basically all things glitter.

When I’m bored or just need to relax I craft.

I’m too ADD to sit through an entire movie, straight through.

I’m never without a book [my mother is never without a magazine, but to each her own].

I wrap gifts for my husband and sign the card from the dog.

I’m a strong willed woman, confident and firm in her beliefs.

get-attachment.aspx

And I make my Christmas cookies almost a month in advance.

Just. Like. Mom.

And you know what? It’s not a bad thing at all.

For as long as I can remember our freezer was STOCKED and I mean stocked. So stocked that when you opened it, there was a 95% chance things would actually fall out. If nothing fell out? Well, she was probably making three or four different things to shove back in it. To restock.

get-attachment.aspx

Just the other day I was on the phone with her while I was running and we were talking about our plans for Christmas Day. When we got to talking about the actual Christmas dinner meal, my mom says, “Well, for dinner I was just thinking I’d do that eggplant parmesan? You know, I still have that whole tray from Casey’s birthday party that never happened!”

Casey is my sister. Her birthday party was Halloween weekend.

Freezer.

get-attachment.aspx

That’s my mother though. Anytime I stop by the house she greats me with a variety of offerings, “You hungry? I have chicken, veggies, veggie burgers, I made a casserole, there’s banana bread, OH! there’s pesto! You just have to defrost it. Want me to make you a plate? Five minutes!”. I swear, there’s an entire restaurant in her freezer.

get-attachment.aspx

I have yet to reach that extent. The closest thing you’ll find to a meal in my freezer is a box of Dr. Praeger’s California Veggie Burgers. And really, that’s more of a snack. There’s a plethora of bagged frozen broccoli as well, but I’d never, ever offer that to a guest.

However, right now, I’m happy to say that there is a gallon size ziploc bag full to brim with these insanely delicious browned butter snicker doodles.

get-attachment.aspx

They’ll make an appearance on every Christmas Cookie Plate I give out this year….perfectly thawed.

get-attachment.aspx

Recipe courtesy of The Ambitious Kitchen

Leave a Reply

