Weekend Reflections; Birthday Celebrations & Couch Potatoes

The highlight of this weekend was on Friday night when we went out to celebrate the birthday of one of my closest friends. It was also pretty much the only thing we did this weekend. On Saturday I had absolutely no energy and was completely exhausted. I figured it was the result of the previous day; I worked my typical long day Friday and then we went out and didn’t fall asleep until early Saturday morning. When the feelings of exhaustion not only stayed with me on Sunday but grew worse I knew something was up that had nothing to do with Friday. Both days I napped consistently and felt inexplicably hot and could not stop sweating. By Sunday I was waking up from my naps by awful nightmares and waking up in a pool of sweat. My back was aching for no reason and I had a low grade fever. I honestly thought it was the start of the flu. This may be TMI, but early this morning I woke up with my period (the terrible cramps woke me) and realized that my fever had broke. Even after a percocet, I still feel a dull ache from the cramps. My doctors offices aren’t open yet so I did what any normal person does in a strange situation like this and contacted good ol’ Dr. Google. I was still in a half awake sleepy daze so I didn’t dig too deep but I found several forums where women wrote in about having low grade fevers, constant sweating and backaches right before their periods. I have never heard of this before but their stories were perfectly consistent with what I experienced this weekend. Has this ever happened to any of you? I definitely do get worse than normal PMS symptoms and debilitating cramps, but I’ve never experienced this; I’ve never gotten what felt like the flu. I’m still not completely with it but I’m hoping by tomorrow I should feel back to normal. So here are some shots from the weekend, all the fun ones from Friday and the rest are basically portraits of Gatsby since he kept me company while I wallowed in misery on the couch for two days!

Pre-birthday dinner selfie! I had to post it because it was the only shot I got of this awesome coat.

get-attachment.aspx

The girls at Liz’s birthday! We all went to high school together and it was so good to see them again!

get-attachment.aspx

This is my friend Alyssa, an INCREDIBLE artist and designer! Such an inspiration.

get-attachment.aspx

Liz the birthday girl! Clearly taken at the end of the night…4 or 5 bottles of wine later…

get-attachment.aspx

We went to dinner at Espoleta on Bowery and I could not stop admiring the ceilings and chandeliers!

get-attachment.aspx

Saturday morning out with my boys to get coffee and visit my in laws. I LOVE when they car-snuggle.

get-attachment.aspx

Gatsby is TERRIFIED of stairs! We live on the first floor of our apartment so there are no stairs for him to practice on. We didn’t even realize how scared he was until we went to Newport and had a stairway in our suite. He would get stuck on whichever floor he was on because he refused to climb the stairs. When we went to my in-laws we decided to dive right into Stairs 101. Armed with treats we tried to get him used to the stairs. It was literally the funniest thing EVER. He would stretch his lankly little body across all the stairs to try to avoid actually climbing them. He kept getting stuck and would literally just stand there, helplessly staring at us and whining until we helped him up or down. Eventually he did walk up a few and even go down the last set, but it was definitely a traumatic experience for the poor little guy. But so, so funny.

get-attachment.aspx

It took two and a half large cups of coffee to get me going at my in laws on Saturday morning and by the time we got home I crashed. I spent the rest of the weekend on the couch diving into Elin Hilderbrand’s new Christmas novel

get-attachment.aspx

Before the weekend started I did finish my massive task of Christmas cookie baking!

get-attachment.aspx

And powered by coffee on Saturday morning, I even packaged them up.

get-attachment.aspx

This little one never left my side all weekend. It was nice to have a napping/reading buddy.

get-attachment.aspx

Love bug.

get-attachment.aspx

AND we finally got our new bedding!! All I wanted was a fluffy white bed that made me feel like I’m sleeping in a cloud. I love it!

get-attachment.aspx

Hope you had a great pre-holiday weekend! If anyone else suffers these types of over the top PMS symptoms, please email me and let me know if you’ve tried anything to alleviate or help with it!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

