Later, 2014

2014 was quite a year! I’m going to say it was certainly a year of transition, of growth, coming into myself and my marriage and most importantly, starting a family. I have gotten married in 2013, but it was this year that I truly feel like I’ve come into the role of “wife”. This was the year our family blossomed. Dynamics shifted within my marriage, my family and our extended family and all for the better. Don’t get me wrong, 2013 was an AMAZING year, but within that there were a few massive shit storms and this year was the year that the dust settled and we moved on. My husband and I grew even closer (something I didn’t even think possible, but am so grateful for), I finally found the career my heart has craved from the start with a workplace that has become my family. Dan and I fell in love with our baby pup Gatsby who has been one of the greatest additions to our life together and so much of our lives has blossomed into the city, a place where for the first time in my life I feel happy to be in, despite the horrible pollution and cold air! Yes, 2014 has been the year of GROWTH. It’s been a year of CHANGE. These two things have always seemed daunting and all the transitions haven’t been the easiest but we’ve bounded through each on with a smile. In 2015 I hope to continue to embrace the change, grow even further and really start rooting myself deeply into this new life that we’ve created together.

So thank you to YOU, you meaning EVERYONE who has been a part of my life this year. From the invisible internet friends popping by this blog on the daily or every now and then to my husband and family to my work family to the clients I have in class each day. Thank you to every last connection I’ve made this year, no matter how big or small because every single being I’ve met on this journey of life has impacted me in some way or another and this year I can confidently say it’s been for the positive. For that I am forever grateful. This has been the year where I can honestly say I’ve been able to view life in a new light, one where I am eternally grateful. I can thank my friend Jackie for that. We lost her in October in the most horrific of tragedies. For my whole life I’ve had strong faith in God and this was one experience where my faith was questioned and it was terrifying. However, in that fear I opened both my eyes and my heart to let God in. What happened when I did that was that He was there and I realized that He was there all along. My goal for 2015 is to continue to be grateful to Him for all the blessings I have, to focus on each and every little positive, not just at the end of the year, not even just at the end of the day but in each moment, with each living breath. Maybe the biggest lesson I learned in 2014 is that life is short, love is powerful and God is always with us.

2014, thanks for having us, and thanks for….

January

get-attachment.aspx

{ NYE ’14…you know what’s funny? How fat I thought I was here. Now my “resolution” is to get back to this size..hmmm }

1489276_10201281372820822_2012565789_n

{ the end of the season }

February

1939990_10201576952890139_350504310_n

{ february winter storm }

get-attachment.aspx

{ the month I got back into painting }

get-attachment.aspx

{ valentine’s }

March

get-attachment.aspx

{ what seemed like endless winter }

get-attachment.aspx

{ & a constant need to be cozy }

get-attachment.aspx

{ back with my family }

get-attachment.aspx

{ necessary winter escape }

April

get-attachment.aspx

{ still in miami for the transition of march to april }

get-attachment.aspx

{ ear cuffs and spring greens }

get-attachment.aspx

{ warm sunny weekend at early season baseball games }

May

get-attachment.aspx

{ first month at my new life }

10462982_10202154183520544_5417323115168843080_n

{ with a new life, comes new hair. Back to blonde it was }

get-attachment.aspx

{ embracing spring }

June

get-attachment.aspx

{ fully immersing into my new work environment.. }

get-attachment.aspx

{ welcoming 26 }

get-attachment.aspx

{ my peace; my happy place }

July

get-attachment.aspx

{ lazy days by the water… as many as I could get }

get-attachment.aspx

{ my new commute }

get-attachment.aspx

{ lazy days spent listening to waves crash and burying myself in novel after novel }

August

get-attachment.aspx

{ work, at a gym in NYC in August was slower than slow, but beach days were long & plenty }

get-attachment.aspx

{ long, frequent days in the city gave me a new appreciation for my slow, calm suburban home }

get-attachment.aspx

{ a constant view }

September

get-attachment.aspx

{ celebrating the birth of this handsome one }

get-attachment.aspx

{ celebrating one year of marriage on our undone kitchen floor }

get-attachment.aspx

{ cheers to summer’s end }

October

get-attachment.aspx

{ welcoming fall }

get-attachment.aspx

{ taking every moment to appreciate the foliage and bonding with the coworkers who grew into family }

get-attachment.aspx

{ & then two became three! Gatsby came home to us and life couldn’t have been better }

get-attachment.aspx

{ little did we know that in the midst of the beauty of fall we would be faced the deepest horror }

11023_10202989041711477_3210239739837188135_n

{ losing our beautiful Jackie. My sister & I loved her as though she was the third sister we never had. We lost a part of our family }

November

get-attachment.aspx

{ the weeks after Jackie’s death were painful yet introspective. }

get-attachment.aspx

{ puppy cuddles eased the pain }

10255359_10203151509293065_5441204920346726088_n

{ we returned to the beach on which we were married }

1499502_10203131986405005_2601860303154432683_n

{ Gatsby came on our weekend trip to Newport, the town that means so much to us }

10520686_10203131978404805_8062803252928195579_n

{ the waters of Rhode Island…they open my heart up again }

10401476_10203129726508509_3354949091789610443_n

{ endless love }

December

get-attachment.aspx

{ this month, this Christmas…could not have been more about family & loved ones, as it always should be }

get-attachment.aspx

{ and friends, friends who have been there for so long that time has made us family }

get-attachment.aspx

{ & too much sugar, but that’s what resolutions are for, right? }

Have a blessed & Happy New Year!!! I hope you spend it with the ones you love and experience nothing but peace, love and happiness this year!

xoxo

friends popping buy

3 thoughts on “Later, 2014

Leave a Reply

