Weekend Reflections ; First Week of 2015

This weekend was the perfect balance of all things good; time spent with friends and loved ones, puppy snuggles, a little shopping and just enough down time. On Saturday I went to brunch with an awesome girl who I’ve known for a few years and am grateful for a wonderful friendship that has grown through time. I was happy to take a look back at my goal list for 2015 and happily check off almost everything! I mean, it is only the first week, it’d be a little sad if I was way off the mark already, no? The one goal I’m really killing is swimming! I am just loving it, although I am insanely sore! I haven’t been this kind of sore since my first track practice at the beginning of high school. It’s just something my body is not used to doing on the regular and my muscles are adjusting to moving and being used in a very different way. I’m actually heading to the pool again today as soon as I finish this post. My 80/20 health goal has been kept in perspective and actively worked on every single day thanks to my friend Keri’s accountability group. She started a 30 day accountability group on Facebook where at the end of each day we all have to check in and evaluate our food choices, water intake and exercise on a scale of 1-5. I won’t lie and say every day was a 5/5 but I’ve eaten better this week than I have in a while and I exercised consistently every day except for Sunday. It’s a really smart group and a good way to keep your goals directly in your line of vision.

At the bottom of my resolution post I added a weekly cleaning chart. I actually did the second week’s task this week and cleaned through my gym clothes drawer. OMG…I cannot believe how much stuff I threw out! I already feel better and incredibly accomplished from one simple declutter. This week I’ll make up week 1 from my chart and clean out my makeup. Ugh, this is a task but a necessary one.

The other day I also wrote a post on overcoming the winter blues and one thing I highlighted was warming up your living space and that is just what Dan and I did yesterday. We recently got a new dining room table and a while back we had purchased an elk antler for the centerpiece. Throughout the holidays it was spruced up with a little sleigh pine and floral arrangement but since then it’s been sitting bare. I wanted something cozy that was appropriate for winter without being too holiday-ish. We ended up stringing little wire LED lights around the antler and adding in battery operated wax candles around it for height. We absolutely love it and could not stop staring at how pretty it was!

Friday lunch date at our usual spot, The Grey Dog.

get-attachment.aspx

I picked this up at the semi-annual sale at Bath & Body Works. I know it’s a fall scent but I can’t stop burning it, it smells heavenly!! It’s just spicy enough that it doesn’t scream “food smell” and make you hungry, it just warms the air with the most comfortingly sweet scent.

get-attachment.aspx

This week has been just too cold for this little guy. He’s spent so much time snuggled under all the blankets. He wears his booties to protect his paws from all the salt outside but lately he’s been wearing them indoors too because our apartment has been crazy cold.

get-attachment.aspx

Post swim selfie! I’m certainly not the girl who looks cute after a workout, hell, I rarely look even remotely decent during my workout…but swimming. Omg…nothing leaves me looking more unattractive than a kick ass powerful pool session. And I find that to be a good thing.

get-attachment.aspx

AWESOME new grocery finds! Cashew milk is outrageously delicious! It’s even more flavorful than almond milk and there’s pretty much nothing in it. The Califia Farms coconut milk is my new favorite from their line, but we all know that I believe they can do no wrong.

get-attachment.aspx

Someone got a belated Christmas present! Actually, it’s for him and Dan.

get-attachment.aspx

Soothing & keeping in line with my goals!

get-attachment.aspx

A little naked puppy after his bath!

get-attachment.aspx

&& post bathtime snuggles..

get-attachment.aspx

The most gorgeous chandelier at Restoration Hardware.

get-attachment.aspx

I’ve been packing my gym back and swim gear the night before so I can grab and go off to the gym before I even have time to contemplate it.

get-attachment.aspx

Absolutely in love with our new centerpiece. Everything is from Restoration Hardware. The starry lights are from the holidays so they’re on sale for $8 now!

get-attachment.aspx

Saturday brunch…btw that’s cider donut bread pudding..

get-attachment.aspx

These earrings were a stocking stuffer from my husband and I adore their understated beauty and pop of color.

get-attachment.aspx

Sunday Starbucks date with my boys; Chestnut Praline Lattes and Raspberry Macchiatos.

get-attachment.aspx

Of course, no trip to Starbucks is complete without a Puppacino. Gatsby knew exactly what it was and could not wait to face dive into that cup.

get-attachment.aspx

Gatsby & I snuggling up in Restoration Hardware while my husband browsed around.

get-attachment.aspx

Nothing says happiness quite like fresh whipped cream.

get-attachment.aspx

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend and stayed as warm as possible! How are your resolutions going? We’re only two weeks in let’s keep up another good week!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

