Vegan Freezer Fudge [ shh..it’s healthy ]

Ever since my last post I’ve had the itch to do some healthy baking.

IMG_4159

Or should I say healthy cooking?

Healthy mixing…because, that’s really all I did. I dumped some stuff into a thing, pressed a button, poured said stuff into a mold and stuck it into my freezer. That’s what I did.

IMG_4201

And that’s why I love vegan cooking, because it seems like that’s all you ever do for vegan recipes. Every time I see something labeled as vegan I’m quick to pin it or go straight into the kitchen and test it out and it’s not for the health factor (although that is a huge plus to vegan cooking!), it’s because it’s usually ridiculously easy.

IMG_4196

Most, if not all vegan recipes I’ve tried don’t require more than one bowl (or blender) and rarely even include the efforts of waiting for an oven to preheat.

The only downside to vegan cooking?

Some people think the stuff is kind of weird.

IMG_4145

And I’m not going to lie, I’m sitting here trying to sell you on “fudge” that’s actually made of chick peas. It’s basically hummus. Frozen hummus. Frozen sweet hummus.

Are you salivating yet?

IMG_4158

BUT! But, but but! All these ingredients are, like, ridiculously good for you. Like, you can eat a tray of fudge and it’s basically no different than if you overdid it on that tub of Sabra. Not that I’m suggesting you go binge on hummus, what I’m saying is that if you did, it totally wouldn’t be the worst thing. It wouldn’t be as bad as, say, eating a stick of butter, can of sweetened condensed milk or a cup of sugar, which are the usual suspects in a typical tray of fudge.

IMG_4147

Sooo…yea, if you want to get all technical, sure, we’re eating frozen beans.

IMG_4202

But it’s far less taxing on your waistline (I literally just typed WASTEline…) than frozen heavy cream. Maybe not as decadently delish, but in all honesty, these are still pretty damn delish.

IMG_4200

They’re incredibly creamy and melt in your mouth. I like to let them sit for 10-15 minutes so they soften up a bit (they thaw REAL quick) and they’re totally sweet and satisfying.

I’ve been digging them as a pre workout snack. They taste like peanut butter cookie dough but they don’t leave me feeling like I just ate a giant glob of cookie dough. Instead of leaving me feeling sluggish, full and a little nauseous (like copious amounts of cookie dough tends to do) these leave me feeling energized and satisfied without weighing me down.

IMG_4200

So, let’s blend up a really bizarre combination of stuff, get weird and eat sweet frozen hummus! And actually enjoy it!!

PS…is it really any weirder than drinking a green smoothie? I think not…

PSS…Ange, there’s a baggie in the freezer for you 😉

Vegan Freezer Fudge

Based off of this recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 can chickpeas [rinsed and peeled — it’s an effort to peel them but TRUST ME it makes the dish infinitely creamier!
  • 1/2 cup nut butter (I did a quarter cup of Trader Joe’s chia flax peanut butter for the added healthy fats and a quarter cup of Simply Jif for the taste and sweetness)
  • 1/2 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 10-12 pitted dates (depending on your desired level of sweetness/ripeness of your dates)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 Enjoy Life Dairy Free Chocolate Chips

Directions:

Add all ingredients except for chocolate chips into your food processor or blender. Blend for a couple minutes, until the “dough” is the consistency of hummus and is smooth and everything has blended together. Do a taste test to see if you want it sweeter or peanut buttery-er. If you add more dates or PB, blend again to incorporate. I added 2 more dates at this point and about a TBSP more of Jif to sweeten it up a bit. Stir in chocolate chips with a spatula and mix thoroughly so every cup will have chips.

Scoop the batter into silicon muffin cups and place in the freezer for at least a day. I popped them out the following day and stored them in a Ziploc bag. I remove them 10-15 minutes before eating them so they can soften up and thaw a bit, but they’re just as good straight out of the freezer!

Enjoy!

xoxo

One thought on “Vegan Freezer Fudge [ shh..it’s healthy ]

  1. Pingback: Weekend Reflections; Family Time & Primping | lindsayylovee

Leave a Reply

