Coconut Cream Layer Cake

I really have got to start doing all my baking in the morning.

IMG_4414

You know, like when the sun is shining? And I can actually take photos in the daylight. Instead of this lovely yellowish, grainy shade I’ve got going on here.

IMG_4355

Maybe I should also stop being so lazy and actually take out my DSLR and use it….you know, instead of my phone.

IMG_4411

I really should do these things.

IMG_4207

I WILL do these things. But for now….here are some mediocre images poorly edited with an app of a really outstanding cake. I guess you’re just going to have to trust me.

IMG_4410

See, here’s the thing. I don’t consider myself a skilled professional at baking because I’m not. Simply put. Sometimes I make things that are just….awful. However, sometimes I make things and they’re REALLY fricken’ good. Like this cake.

IMG_4213

So then, in hindsight, I think, “HEY! I should totally blog this!” OR someone asks for a recipe and I think, “HEY! That could make a really good blog post!”. Unfortunately, I’ve already made the thing and haven’t snapped any photos or I’ve taken some random cell phone pics in the hopes of maybe making an Instagram.

IMG_4210

Although, I could just make the whole thing again and use it as a prop for GOOD, quality, naturally lit photos that I took with my fancy shmancy camera like a real blogger. Alas…I’m lazy. And isn’t one huge, giant, delicious, fluffy as a cloud THREE LAYER coconut cake enough to have laying around the house?!

IMG_4206

Alright, alright. These embarrassing shots kind of have me convinced. After my trip I will make the effort to practice using my DSLR. For more delectable pictures. Of course, I can always just tell you what this cake is like. I can tell you that despite its buttery decadence, it’s actually light and tender thanks to egg whites and cake flour. It’s sweet without being overwhelmingly so and the fluffy coconut whipped cream filling melts in your mouth and feels like a little cloud of heaven combined with the soft cake. All that lightness is perfectly balanced by a rich, silky smooth cream cheese frosting that’s been covered with a layer of sweetened shredded coconut, providing just the right amount of subtle texture.

IMG_4208-2

I could ramble on, or I could just take one damn decent freakin’ photo.

IMG_4412

Anyway…make the cake, it’s goooood!

Coconut Cream Layer Cake

Ingredients for Cake –

  • 5 egg whites
  • 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 1 tbsp coconut extract
  • 3 cups cake flour
  • 2 1/3 cups sugar
  • 4 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, room temp
  • 1/4 cup cream of coconut
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened flaked coconut

Ingredients for Filling –

  • 1 pint whipping cream
  • 1 package of coconut flavored Jell-O Instant Pudding Mix

Ingredients for Cream Cheese Frosting –

  • 16 ounces (two blocks) cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 5 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1-3 tbsp milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup sweetened flaked coconut

Directions –

To make the cake:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Spray 3 cake pans with PAM Baking spray and set aside. In one bowl whisk together egg whites, whole milk and coconut extract. In a larger bowl whisk together the flour, baking powder, sugar, unsweetened coconut flakes and salt. Add butter, cream of coconut and coconut milk and beat with an electric or stand mixer starting on low setting until all combined, then switch to a high setting and continue to beat for a few minutes until the batter is light and fluffy. Add egg white mixture in thirds, making sure to beat between pours. The batter should be smooth and slightly thick. Divide the batter equally among three pans (you’ll still get even pours even if you eat several…or more…heaping spoonfuls of batter. Not that I would know anything about that..) and bake for 32-36 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean. Let the cakes sit in the pans for about 10 minutes then remove and let them continue to cool on a cooling rack.

To make the filling:

Mix instant pudding in one cup of milk (half the milk required by the label on the Jell-O box) and whisk until pudding is set. Whip your whipping cream in an electric mixer until stiff peaks form. Fold the coconut pudding into whipped cream.

To make the cream cheese frosting:

Beat the butter, cream cheese and powdered sugar together with an electric or stand mixer until light and fluffy. Slowly adding milk and continue to beat until frosting reaches desired consistency. You can add more powdered sugar to make it thicker or a little more milk to thin it out.

Assembly:

Top the bottom layer of your cake with half of the coconut pudding filling. Top with second cake. Top second cake with the second half of coconut pudding filling. Top that with your third and final cake. At this point I wrapped the filled cake tightly with clear plastic wrap and stuck it in the freezer for a few hours. Once it had set in the freezer I removed it and frosted it with the cream cheese frosting. Freezing the cake before frosting eliminates any crumbs from getting into your frosting and also helps the cake maintain its shape. Basically, it’s just a gazillion times easier to frost a frozen, solid cake! Sprinkle (or aggressively toss, whichever works) sweetened coconut against the sides of your cake. Let your pup clean up the mess of coconut flakes that have inevitable fallen all over your floor. This is optional, but I topped my cake with Blue Diamond Coconut Almonds as a little nod to one of my favorite candy bars, Almond Joy. Also, they looked purrrrty.

Enjoy!! Don’t forget to tag me @lindsayl0vee if you make this!

xoxox

Leave a Reply

