Charoset Truffles

My knowledge of Jewish cuisine is as extensive as working at a restaurant that catered Passover dinners one year.

IMG_5490

Basically, it’s limited. What I do know about Jewish cuisine is that every time I’ve had it, it’s been really freakin’ good and I have yet to find a Kosher deli that’s anything less than awesome. Living in NY, I’ve enjoyed plenty of Jewish fare but these charoset truffles are my first time trying my hand at cooking it myself.

IMG_5345

The only question I had was, why didn’t I make these sooner?! When I first stumbled upon the recipe they looked to good to pass up so I made them to bring to Easter dinner. Pretty sure The Last Supper was actually Passover, right? So, it ties in.

IMG_5430-2

Regardless, everyone loved these little guys! They are incredibly tasty and I love the surprise addition of cinnamon, my favorite spice. They remind me of Larabars, but way better. This is a recipe I don’t see myself saving for only once a year which is why I’m posting here, post holiday! These are my new go to pre-run snack…and, well, anytime snack. These are friggin’ delicious…go make ’em! Simple as that.

IMG_5344

IMG_5346

Charoset Truffles

Recipe adapted from HERE

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups Medjool dates
  • 1 1/2 cups dried apricots
  • 1/2 cup golden raisins
  • 3/4 cup roasted, salted almonds
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Directions

Pulse all ingredients except for sugar and cinnamon together in a Vitamix blender. [NOTE: the recipe I followed suggested a food processor but the mix was too sticky for my 10 year old processor and it smoked up and burned out. The Vitmaix handled it like a champ but I did have to stop it every 5 seconds or so to stir the mixture manually] Stop to mix together with a spoon every couple pulses to ensure it mixes evenly. You want to pulse it enough that it all comes together but keep it slightly chunky so you can still see pieces of the different ingredients. You don’t want it blending into a paste.

Once it comes together in a chunky sort of “dough” remove from the blender and spray the palms of your hands with Pam spray before rolling into balls. I made them about the size of golf balls. Mix the sugar and cinnamon together in a shallow bowl and dip the truffles into cinnamon sugar mixture, coating evenly.

You can eat them like this, but I preferred them chilled, straight from the fridge.

Enjoy!

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Charoset Truffles

  1. Pingback: Weekend Reflections; Recharge | lindsayylovee

Leave a Reply

