Spring Cleaning; Jewelry Organization

For whatever reason, from the outside, people always think I’m organized. I’m really not…like, I’m actually very, very far from it.

IMG_2330

But, I try my hardest to keep it together, which is probably why it comes off that I am. I’m always working at it. Constantly writing lists, reorganizing, cleaning, etc. I’m really just trying to put the pieces together because in reality I’m a chaotic mess. The main reason why I constantly reorganize is because whatever method I tried ended up back in a heaping pile of stuff that I now have to go back, re-sort through and reorganize. It’s a never ending cycle. My husband says it’s because I never put things away…which is partially true. I like to think that the things just haven’t quite found their forever home just yet.

IMG_2333

Like my jewelry, for example. I’m a costume jewelry hoarder so since I can’t stop adding to the collection I tend to forget what I have and forget to wear pieces. I need to *see* everything. But I live in a one bedroom apartment…I don’t exactly have the space for a full on jewelry display. So what happened was I just kept piling jewelry on top of one of my dressers.

IMG_2324

After I’d wear something, I’d toss it up there and add to the pile. It got so bad that for a while I was wearing the same two pieces…my wedding bands -.- …and everything else was knotted up into one, huge, unbearable, tangled mess.

IMG_2323

Finally, I caved and decided that this whole area needed a makeover.

IMG_2322

First things first was to detangle. I laid everything out on my bed and went to work. Each time I freed a piece I cleaned and polished it. Once everything was free I organized everything into like categories. Necklaces, bracelets, etc and then I separated all that into two piles: frequently worn and rarely worn.

IMG_2325

Next, I realized that there was simply too much to display everything in a way that didn’t look cluttered. So I cleared out a drawer in my dresser to keep pieces that are rarely worn as well as my finer jewelry, since I keep those pieces in their bags and boxes, which kills the whole “display” thing.

IMG_2332

Before, my jewelry tree was so piled up that I couldn’t see a single branch. So I only hung my favorite pieces that I reach for on a daily basis. They look pretty and the empty space is such a breath of fresh air. Next, I put all my bangles into clear acrylic drawers because those are another staple. I added some candles up there for a calm, relaxing vibe and to remind myself to keep this neat.

IMG_2334

IMG_2567

Finally I added several small dishes that hold my rings and serve as a place to rest my wedding bands at night.

IMG_2336

This post is actually a long time coming as I reorganized this mess a few months ago. I didn’t post right away because I wanted to give it some time to make sure this set up worked. I was nervous about the drawer and had feeling I would either forget I had pieces stored in there and never wear them or I would be too lazy to put them back into the drawers and recreate the messy pile on top.

IMG_2566

Fortunately, several months later, none of that has happened! It still looks neat and clean and even the drawer has stayed organized! I think I’ve finally found a system that works for me. It makes me feel so good and clear headed when I walk into my bedroom and see such a neat, open display. This dresser is the first thing you see when you walk into our bedroom and it created such a chaotic feeling when you walked in with such a mess as a first impression. Now, I feel relaxed and comfortable. Ahhhh! Peace.

IMG_2330

xoxo

One thought on “Spring Cleaning; Jewelry Organization

  1. Pingback: How to Style Your Coffee Table | lindsayylovee

Leave a Reply

