Earth Day

When my husband and I were in Italy we noticed something. He could stare at the architecture and ruins for endless amounts of time, clearly moved by their rich history and beautiful appearance. Of course, I thought the structures were great but they didn’t take my breath away like they did his. You know what did though? The stone trees in Rome, the rolling hills of endless emerald green in the country side that we saw out the window of the high speed trains and the incredibly detailed, fluffy clouds that looked like a painting. We joked that while Dan is moved by man’s architecture, I’m blown away by God’s.

There’s just something about our planet’s natural beauty that is beyond comparison. It’s as simple as looking up at the breathtaking sky or admiring the palette of colors found in nature. Whenever we go somewhere new my two favorite things to do are to take a run and go for a hike so I can get off the beaten path and see the real beauty. In Hawaii the beaches at the resorts were nice, of course, but the most stunning beaches were the ones we had to drive off road to find and hike through barely recognizable paths to get to.

I’ve always been moved by nature, ever since I was a little kid and Earth Day is a reminder to reflect on the beauty of our planet that I love so much and think about protecting it and doing my part in keeping it beautiful. As a small way to celebrate Earth Day I want to share a few pictures of my favorite places along with some tips on how to keep it beautiful.

Sunsets in Hanalei, HI

IMG_7937

Autumn run in Westchester, NY

get-attachment.aspx

Luscious blue on blue in Jamestown, RI

1499502_10203131986405005_2601860303154432683_n

The perfect gradation in Kona, HI

DSC_0817

Hiking in upper Westchester, NY

get-attachment.aspx

Fluffy clouds above the Hudson River, NY

get-attachment.aspx

Summer evenings on the Hudson, NY

get-attachment.aspx

The Napali Coast, HI

IMG_8031

Nourishment in Florence, Italy

DSC_0381

Countryside in Italy

DSC_0326

Tiny baby bunnies in my parents’ front yard, NY

IMG_2207

Cotton candy sunsets in Westchester, NY

IMG_2379

Easton Beach the morning of our wedding in Newport, RI

IMG_7615

Pink sunrise over the Hutchison River Parkway in Westchester, NY

IMG_6930

Cedar Beach, NY

IMG_2998

Spring Blossoms at the Mamaroneck Harbor, NY

IMG_1233

Stone Pines in Rome, Italy

DSC_0290

Florence, Italy

DSC_0356

Sunbathing sea turtles in Kona, HI

IMG_7719

Black beaches in Kona, HI

IMG_7793

Endless beaches of Miami, FL

IMG_0614

Crashing waves against Long Island, NY

IMG_7055

One of the biggest things I do to keep my carbon footprint in check is to walk everywhere. It’s a small change that makes a big difference. If it’s under five miles, I make the effort to hoof it. My gym is about 2.5 miles away so I try to always run or walk there instead of driving. At work in New York City I take cabs and public transportation as little as possible, almost never, in favor giving myself extra time and walking. Basically, I only get in the car if I absolutely have to.

To decrease my use of plastic water bottles I invested in a good, sturdy glass reusable bottle that’s small enough to carry with my everywhere and refill throughout the day. When we do use plastic water bottles I collect them in a large tote to bring to the recycle bins at the grocery store each week.

I carry reusable totes with me everywhere and make an effort not to use plastic bags. When I shop I throw whatever will fit into my purse instead of taking a plastic bag and if I do get a shopping bag I reuse it as a lunch bag until it falls apart.

I buy local ingredients whenever I can. Farmers market, organic produce, etc. I also make an effort to buy products that aren’t tested on animals. I love Lush for that reason as much as their amazing products.

Most importantly I take time each day to get outside and appreciate what I see. I love to revel in the beauty that is the color of the sky, shapes of the clouds, vibrant hues of grass, trees and flowers, etc. I like to sit near the vast ocean or under an endlessly tall tree and feel small. I like to close my eyes and breathe in fresh air and feel the warmth of the sun on my skin.

Happy Earth Day to you & to our endlessly beautiful planet.

xoxo

3 thoughts on “Earth Day

  1. Beautful pictures Linz. I really love all the scenery pics. You should have some printed, framed and hung on your wall at home.

  2. Hi Lindsay!
    I had a similar experience in Italy with my boyfriend, he couldn’t get enough of the architecture, me ehh it was beautiful but nothing tops the beauty of Mother Earth. Your pictures are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

