Salted Chocolate Energy Balls

Are you a snacker or do you eat only at meal times?

DSC_0583

I’m a snacker through and through. If anything, I like to consider myself a “grazer” because I pretty much eat little bits all throughout the day. One of my favorite snacks, hands down, is nuts. Particularly, almonds because of their amazing nutritional stats.

DSC_0558

Almonds have been a consistent snack in my life for as long as I can remember and the main reason for that is because there are so many different ways to eat them so they pretty much never get boring. I love them paired with baby carrots or fruit as a mid morning snack, I love them ground up as almond butter and spread on toast or used as a dip for fruit/chocolate/a spoon/anything, really. Recently, I’ve been OBSESSED with the seemingly endless flavored options of Blue Diamond almonds! They have such a great variety of flavored, roasted almonds that range from savory (like Wasabi & Soy Sauce) to sweet (um…APPLE PIE?!). I’m obsessed with these flavored almonds because they’re the perfect thing to have when a craving hits but you’re trying to be healthy.

DSC_0570

DSC_0572

But, let’s be honest, sometimes we need a wee bit more than a handful of nuts, right? Like something a little more substantial, something we can really sink our teeth into that will give us a burst of energy without making us feel weighed down or guilty. That’s where these energy balls come in.

DSC_0579

My sweet tooth reigns supreme so when a craving strikes, more often than not it’s for something sweet and/or chocolate. However, every now and then I crave some salt too. Salty and sweet is where it’s at and that’s what these balls are. I used two different kinds of Blue Diamond flavored roasted almonds here, Sea Salt and Dark Chocolate.

DSC_0559

I blended the almonds together with a mix of dates, honey and a touch of dark cocoa powder, just to make them extra chocolatey. After blending together I rolled them up into bite size balls and dipped half in more cocoa powder and half in desiccated coconut. Healthy truffles!

DSC_0560

And thanks to the bold flavors from these divine little almonds, these taste just as decadent as a truffle.

DSC_0577

I’m in love.

They’re a great on the go snack but my favorite times to eat them are for a little pre-workout energy and mid afternoon pick me up.

Do yourself a favor, grab a blender or food processor and MAKE THESE! Now.

DSC_0562

Salted Chocolate Energy Balls

Ingredients — 

Directions — 

Add all ingredients into a high power blender or food processor and blend away! You want to blend until a “dough” forms. I like to blend for a couple minutes, until the nuts break down quite a bit and the mixture becomes sticky, but you can blend them as much or as little as you like. If you like a chunkier bite, with distinct pieces of nuts and dried fruits just pulse a few times until it all comes together.

Scoop your mixture out by tablespoon and roll together in your hands to create bite sized balls. Once rolled dip in coconut, cocoa powder or just leave them as is! You could also skip the coating and sprinkle with a little bit of sea salt. Yum! They’re delicious in just about any form.

Enjoy!

This post is sponsored by Blue Diamond Almonds. All opinions are my own and this is a product I genuinely love. 

xoxo

Leave a Reply

