27th Birthday

Today I turn twenty seven years old.

image

The other day my sister, who’s three years younger, texted me to say “I can’t believe you’re going to be 27! I always wondered when the day would come where you’d be a certain age and I’d be like OMG WE’RE GETTING OLD. Well, this is it”.

Ok, she was joking. But it got me thinking. Old is the absolute last thing I feel. Maybe I’ve always loved the number 7, maybe I’m simply in a good place in my life but deep down inside I have a really good feeling. I’m excited about turning 27. I don’t think I’ve ever felt as confident in my own skin. For the first time in my life I feel like I can confidently, securely say “no” without prefacing it or following it with “I’m sorry”. For the first time in my life I can go out without a stitch of makeup on and still feel radiant. For the first time in my life I feel like I’m actually utilizing coping skills to deal with my anxiety, and for the first time in my life I feel like it’s working.

I’ve reached a point where I am embracing who I am, truly. Flaws and strengths. I admit to my faults and I work at them but I no longer downplay my strengths, nor am I embarrassed to call attention to them. I’m a wife, sister, daughter, friend, dog-mama, fitness professional, artist and writer. I’m an eternal optimist and something as small as a sprinkle (or lots of sprinkles) makes me happy. My identity is not just one linear thing but a multitude of strengths, weaknesses, talents and relationships all rolled into one. Most importantly I am blessed. I’m alive, healthy and one of the lucky ones who has a support system made up of a wonderful family and equally outstanding friends. The ones who’ve been there for all of, the majority of and some of my 27 years.

IMG_6224

So today I want to take a moment to reflect on twenty seven things I am deeply grateful for.

1. My faith in God

2. My health

3. Dan & Gatsby

IMG_8906-2

4. My family

IMG_6986

5. My friends

IMG_6114

6. Waking up early enough to see the sun rise

IMG_0366

7. Sunsets. Especially on the beach

IMG_7937

8. Living close enough to the coast to bury my toes in the sand anytime

IMG_7167

9. Really freaken good manicures

IMG_9575

10. Living with a man who still manages to make me laugh every. single. day.

11. Coming home to fresh air and sooo many trees after a long day of work in the city

IMG_9608

12. Being happy in my career and loving what IΒ do

IMG_1665

13. Having the desire to get lost in a delicious novel every chance I get

14. Watching Gatsby’s butt wiggle and sashay as he walks back into the apartment after a walk

IMG_7071

15. Waking up to my husband every morning

16. Having been able to travel and experience all the places I’ve been

IMG_7863

17. Warm puppy snuggles

18. My education

19. Scented candles

IMG_9123-2

20. A body that continues to let me jump high, run fast and do all the crazy things I love to do

IMG_0270

21. A really good night’s sleep

22. Big, fluffy clouds against a bright blue sky

23. Moments when you laugh so hard you cry and pee at the same time

24. A lived in, soft pair of daisy dukes

IMG_2551

25. Crisp, cold white wine

26. Living close enough to the coast to (almost) always have access to fresh seafood

27. Simply being alive

FullSizeRender

xoxo

Leave a Reply

