Unicorn Balls

Ok…so that’s a kind of weird name for a dessert.

DSC_0709

But!! That’s exactly what these are. Rainbow balls? Multi colored balls? UNICORN balls.

DSC_0702

The only thing they’re missing is glitter. And that’s only because I wasn’t about to spend $10 on a quarter ounce vial of edible glitter.  We all know I’d rather spend that moneys on a candle.

DSC_0731

I guess I could have called them Unicorn Pops, alas I was too lazy to stick the pop in. And the only sticks I had on hand to make them pops were my green and red ones leftover from the holidays. Sooooo yea.

DSC_0736

Balls were the easy choice. Um..

DSC_0711

LOOK AT THESE UNICORN GUTS!! GAHH!

DSC_0707

I made these a little while back for the block party Dan and I went to. I figured cake balls were an easy choice because they’re portable, poppable and I have yet to meet someone who doesn’t like them. But I wanted to fancy them up a bit and while I was in the supermarket buying the ingredients I found NEON food coloring.

DSC_0625

And my heart stopped. No, it didn’t. But I might have squealed loud enough for everyone in the two surrounding aisles to hear. Then I hoarded three boxes and proceeded to checkout. I knew right there that Unicorn Balls would soon be a thing.

DSC_0624

DSC_0626

So, I brought them to the block party and they were one of the first desserts people started eating. And I, like the total weirdo that I am, walked around watching people eat my Unicorn Balls [did I really just type that?].

DSC_0628

DSC_0643

No one took a bite. Every. Single. Person. who ate them just popped the WHOLE ENTIRE THING IN THEIR MOUTH IN ONE BITE. I kid you not when I tell you I wanted to stand up on one of the tables and scream.

DSC_0691

That’s not how it’s done!!!!!!!!

DSC_0717

It was worse than watching someone take a bite out of a full, unbroken Kit-Kat bar like it was a piece of toast. It made me want to cry. I looked at Dan and said, “Babe…everyone’s eating my Unicorn Balls but NO ONE is breaking them in half or taking a bite or LOOKING AT THEM!”

DSC_0726

He was like, “ummm…”

“My Unicorn Balls!! The freaken’ rainbow cake balls I’ve been making for the past two days. No one is taking a bite!!! Everyone is just popping them in whole!”

“Who bites a cake ball?”

DSC_0716

It was so sad. So, when you make these, my advice is to serve them to friends, family or a small group so you can direct them on how to eat them. Let them know they MUST see the insides!!

DSC_0711

Or just cut them in half and serve them that way.

DSC_0704

Do you take bites out of cake balls or do you eat them whole? I always eat them bite by bite, and not just cake balls. I take bites from any and everything no matter how small. I mean, I gotta see what’s inside!! ALWAYS! Didn’t we all learn this when we ate our first box of Valentine’s Day truffles from the big red heart shaped boxes? WHAT IF YOU GET A PINK ONE!

DSC_0706

Anyway, make these little beauties and make sure EVERYONE takes a bite and sees how beautiful they are!

Unicorn Balls

Ingredients —

  • 10 oz white chocolate
  • 10 ounces milk or dark chocolate
  • rainbow sprinkles
  • white cake mix
  • ingredients needed for cake mix [eggs, oil, water, depending on brand]
  • canned frosting [i used duncan hines cream cheese]
  • 4-5 different food coloring gels [i used neon colors]

Directions —

preheat your oven to 350 degrees. with nonstick spray, spray two cupcake/muffin trays. you could also use four or five [depending how many colors you use] mini cake pans but i don’t have that many cake pans so i used muffin trays.

in one large mixing bowl, make your cake batter according to the box’s instructions. set out several more smaller bowls [one for each color you will be using] pour an even amount of batter into each bowl. using your food coloring gel, drop one or two drops of each into each bowl and mix until color is evenly distributed throughout batter. pour colored batter into muffin tins filling 3/4 of the way full. don’t worry if they look messy, we’re going to be breaking it all up anyway. bake cupcakes according to box’s direction for baking time.

let cupcakes cool. while they cool [i pop them in the fridge to speed it up] lay out a bowl for each color [4-5 depending how many colors you used]. crumble like colored cupcakes into their own bowls. so you’ll have a bowl of crumbs for each color.

drop a few spoonfuls of frosting into each bowl of colored crumbs and mix together until a “dough” forms. i find that cake ball dough is quite sticky, much stickier than the oreo cookie truffle dough, so i refrigerate the the frosting/cake crumb mixture for 20 minutes. once it’s pliable, roll each color of dough into a ball or log. rip a small piece of each color, layer them like stacked coins and then roll together in your hand to form a ball.

once you’ve used up all your batter to make your rainbow colored balls, let them chill and harden in the freezer for a few hours or overnight before dipping.

once balls are frozen, melt milk and white chocolate separately. lay out a silpat mat or other nonstick surface [parchment paper, etc]. using two forks, roll frozen cake balls around in melted chocolate until fully and evenly coated. place on silpat mat to set and immediately sprinkle with rainbow sprinkles. you want to add the sprinkles as soon as possible because the frozen cake will make the chocolate set and harden very quickly.

let the finished unicorn balls sit in the fridge for a few hours or until ready to serve! they will last in the fridge for about a week or in the freezer for up to three months.

enjoy!!

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Unicorn Balls

Leave a Reply

