Summer Favorites

I haven’t done a favorites post in a quite a while!

DSC_0858

I’ve been wanting to do a summer favorites for some time but the weather simply was not cooperating. June still had a lot of cool/rainy days and the summer heat and humidity that changes and affects my skin hadn’t hit yet. And we all know, when it comes to favorites, skincare products take the cake for this chick! Well, now we’ve had a solid few weeks of legitimate summer and enough time has past that I can confidently say that the following products have earned the right to be official “summer” favorites.

DSC_0879

How’d this get here? He counts as a favorite though, right?

Ok, here are the non-living-creature things I’ve been utterly obsessed with this season!

 

SKINCARE

DSC_0867

Tatcha Luminous Dewey Skin Mist & Kiehl’s Hydro-Plumping Re-Texturizing Serum Concentrate – Ok, these two items have been my holy grail. I have been obsessively applying them in an OCD manner 2-3x a day for the past month or so and I’m absolutely smitten. On the days where I don’t wear any makeup (hello, Monday through Friday) these are what I use to give my skin a flawless, even, dewy look. I got my skin tested at Kiehl’s where I learned that it is a bit dehydrated which made my face look dull, uneven and accentuated any bags or puffiness under my eyes. After washing and toning my face I spritz it liberally with the Tatcha mist then use the Kiehl’s serum to lock in the moisture. I LOVE this serum because it contains glycerin so throughout the day it pulls moisture from the air and continuously hydrates my skin. These two products combined really gives my skin that “glowing from within” look.

DSC_0865

Laura Mercier Flawless Skin Infusion De Rose Nourishing Creme & Nourishing Oil – omgomgomgomgomg. I feel like a balloon about to pop as I’m about to talk about this duo because I’ve been secretly hoarding them all to myself for MONTHS. Alas, I have to let you all in on the secret. THIS SHIT MAKES MY SKIN LOOK J.LO-AMAZING. It’s Jennifer Lopez skin in a bottle. That’s what this is. And it smells like soft, creamy rose with a hint of sweetness. UGHHHHH. Go to a Laura Mercier counter and test a sample of this cream. You’ll immediately feel how thick, rich and velvety soft it is and that’s exactly what it feels like on your face. You can literally feel your skin drinking it in, softening and glowing right before your eyes. I found out about these products in a sample from Sephora or Lord & Taylor, it came in a small double vial with about 5 days worth of product. This was back in March and I brought it with me to Italy where I used it every morning and every night. I used just enough for it to last me the full trip. My skin looked so good that during the day I didn’t even wear foundation. I would do double takes on my phone after taking a selfie because of how smooth and even my skin looked. I wanted to believe it was the oil and rose cream but deep down inside I told myself it was just the glow of Italy. I was invigorated by a new place, a vacation high and was eating fresh food with no chemicals in them. Why wouldn’t my skin look good? Then I ran out of my beloved Josie Maran Argan Oil and decided that since I needed a new oil anyway I’d try out this rose oil. I went to Lord & Taylor to pick it up and they were having a sale on cosmetics so I figured what the heck and grabbed the rose creme as well. I put both on that night and the following morning I woke up with that exact same flawless, glowing Italy skin. It’s this stuff. It’s a miracle combination and the scent is just the icing on the cake. GAH IT’S SO DIVINE.

DSC_0873

Mario Badescu Seaweed Night Cream Just when I thought nothing could top my GlamGlow Thirsty Mud for a night treatment, this came along. It’s soooo incredibly thick, perfect for a night cream. It doesn’t soak in immediately so I rub it into my skin about 20-30 minutes before going to bed so it doesn’t rub off onto my pillow. At night I layer this over the Laura Mercier Rose Oil. Put this on at night and I kid you not you wake up with the softest, pearly, glowing skin. It also helps tremendously with plumping up and filling in fine lines.

SPF + Tanning

DSC_0863

Kiehl’s Sun-Free Self-Tanning Formula & Supergoop! SPF 30 City Sunscreen Serum – It wouldn’t be a summer favorites without a mention of this category! I am and have been for well over a decade now, a self tanner hopeless devotee. I’ve used EVERYTHING from tanning towels to CVS brand body bronzers to high end self tanners like Bliss and St. Tropez. As far as body self tanners go, I’m not super picky. I’m partial to the body bronzers by Victoria’s Secret simply because they’re glittery and they come in delicious scents. However, up until now I’d never found a self-tanner for my face that wowed me. Every one I’ve ever tried has either made me break out viciously or at the very least left me with a plethora of blackheads all over my T-Zone. Once I get blackheads, they’re nearly impossible to get rid of so I’ve simply stayed away from facial self-tanners. My mom got me this for my birthday and although I truly LOVE Kiehls, I was still hesitant to put this on my face. However, I do trust the brand. I’ve been using their products for almost 10 years now and they have yet to let me down so I gave this product a try. Floored. I was straight up floored. First off, it has zero scent which I liked. Secondly, it’s very light and absorbed into my skin like a light facial cream and left no greasy residue. It gives a subtle tan warmth without dramatically darkening your skin and the hint of color really evened out my face. As for blackheads and/or breakouts? Not a SPOT!! I’m beyond thrilled with this product; finally a facial self tanner for the most sensitive skin! GAH!

Let’s chat about this Supergoop! Serum. Um…It’s a SERUM!!! Which means it’s actually hydrating your skin while protecting it from harmful rays. This is amazing because even with SPF, the sun still dries out your skin. For me, when the sun dries out my skin my skin produces extra oil to compensate and I’m left with those annoying little beach whiteheads. Have you ever had that? You know what else happens when the sun dries me out and dehydrates my skin? My skin gets tight and suddenly I see all these wrinkles I never even knew I had. This stuff put a hault on all those nasty effects!! No dry skin, no tightness, no breakouts, no temporary wrinkles! Actually, my skin looked hydrated and radiant when I left the beach after 7 hours in the sun yesterday. I was rubbing this on every hour or so. One downside, which actually probably isn’t a downside though…when I use this stuff, I don’t get sun freckles. I love the little summer freckles I get across my face after a day in the beach and since I’ve been using this I haven’t seen one freckle. This is probably a good thing, I’m going to assume those freckles are probably some sort of sun damage since this has prevented them. But, yea. Kinda miss them. But! If you’re like my sister, who HATES her freckles, definitely check out this product.

CLEANSERS

DSC_0870

Simple Cleansing Micellar Water & Bath and Body Works Boardwalk Vanilla Cone Deep Cleansing Hand Soap – This Simple Cleansing Water is awesome, it’s basically a suuuuuper gentle, moisturizing toner. I squeeze it onto a cotton ball and wipe off my face after the shower or after washing it to get off any extra dirt or leftover makeup. What I love the most about this is that it’s gentle enough to clean around my eye area but still strong enough to get ANY leftover mascara residue. Plus it’s so moisturizing so the skin around my eyes is never left feeling tight or dry. I also use this first thing in the morning when I wake up instead of washing my skin just to make sure I have a clean slate before applying any moisturizer for the day.

Unless I find some fancy shmancy hand soap somewhere [like the one time I found vanilla scented soap in a glass pumpkin pump at Marshall’s..which is more tacky than fancy but still] pretty much all my hand soaps are from Bath & Body Works. They’re ridiculously cheap [I only buy them when they’re on sale for $1-3], smell AMAZING and usually have super pretty labels that I love to stare at. We just redid our kitchen and we have a sea turtle sponge holder and whale lotion pump so I just thought this blue color matched that sea theme we had going. Does boardwalk ice cream and sea turtles actually mix? Who knows but it looked pretty and this soap smells soooo good and, well, I enjoy food-y scents in my kitchen so there’s that.

BEAUTY

DSC_0869

Chanel Levres Scintillantes Glossimer & Kai Perfume – Wow, who am I?! This is the smallest a beauty section has ever been a favorites!! Well…I guess it shouldn’t come as a surprise. Unless I’m going out, like OUT, out, where I actually get dressed up and pictures will be taken, I hardly wear makeup in the summer. Ever since I was little I knew that I somehow looked a bit different in the warmer months. As I got older I realized the difference was a splash of golden highlights that appeared throughout my dark brown hair and skin that darken, freckled and took on a smooth, dewy glow that’s absent the rest of the year. Oh, and I’m generally much happier in the summertime and is anything prettier than a genuine smile? I spend the winter months TRYING to apply my makeup in a way that gives me the same radiant glow I have in the summer. So from June to September, my makeup philosophy is “don’t mess with it”. If anything I add a little something to highlight or accentuate my features and leave it at that. Most days it’s really no more than a swipe of lipgloss and my go to is this Chanel gloss. It’s thick and moisturizing and feels like I just rubbed a thick layer of Aquaphor and it leaves the faintest punchy color that plays up the natural pink of my lips and looks quite lovely against a tan. When I do add a little more makeup it’s typically just a couple sweeps of mascara, a quick brow fill and dusting of highlight.

What I lack in makeup during the summer I more than make up for in perfume. I know I should actually ease up on the perfume because I hate bugs, but I can’t help it!! I’m a heavy handed perfume junkie and I don’t foresee that ever changing. Kai is not your typical beachy scent (not like Bobbi Brown Beach or Estee Lauder Bronze Goddess–two of my great loves which smell like Coppertone sunscreen) but it takes me straight back to Hawaii, which is where I first discovered it. Hawaii didn’t smell like a typical beach to me; it smelled like flowers. The islands were so lush and fresh flowers were EVERYWHERE from the streets and the grounds to everyone’s hair. Kai reminds me of that sunshiney, ocean breezey, beachy garden and whenever I wear it I feel like I’m transported right back to Kauai.

CANDLES

DSC_0861

Yankee Candle Storm Watch & Bath and Body Works Summer Bonfire – So there’s a specific reason why I HAD to mention candles. Last week I went shopping between classes and scored a ridiculous sale on candles that was so amazing that I ended up running back to the store because a few girls at work asked me to pick up some for them. Later that evening one of the girls sent me a text asking if she should light her candle. Huh? I was so confused. I proceeded to take a video of my apartment to show her, in real time, the 5 or 6 different candles I currently had going. Her response? “OMG! I didn’t realize you could light candles in the summer! I thought it was a fall/winter thing”. Listen to me, there’s never an inappropriate time to light candles!! Well, unless you have a baby or toddler running around I presume, safety first. Anyway. I light candles every season, 365 days a year, morning, noon and night something is burning. I’m kind of obsessed with scent. However, I do change out the fragrances season to season.

My hands down favorite this season is this Summer Bonfire canlde from B&BW. It’s so unique smelling and really smells like a salty, beachy bonfire. It’s light and citrusy which gives it a SUMMER smokey scent as opposed to that toasted marshmallow/fireside scent that’s popular in the winter. This is quite different. It takes me right back to the bonfire dinner my family and I had on Montauk a few years ago. I like to burn this on weekend evenings in when Dan and I are snuggled on the couch with a cocktail. My other favorite is this Storm Watch candle from Yankee. As much I love sunshine, I adore summer rainstorms; they’re incredibly nostalgic to me. When I was little and it would rain in the summer my mom and I would sit on the front porch and watch, listen and smell the rain. My mom is quite the gardener so our front yard was always full of lush greenery and flowers and the rain would bring out all those earthy scents and fill up the entire porch. This candle smells JUST LIKE THAT!!!! Ok, some may read “wet dirt” but to me it’s just that rich, earthy, fresh scent. Every day it’s rained this summer [and oh have we had our share] I RUN to grab this candle.

 

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Summer Favorites

  1. Pingback: Currently Burning | lindsayylovee

  2. You completely sold me on Storm Watch. My mom and I did the same, watching thunder and lightning storms in the summer. I love that earthy rainy scent. Thanks for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

