The Best, Easiest Summer Salad

Why is fall already EVERYWHERE?? What are the pumpkins doing in my supermarket in basically every. other. aisle. ALREADY?

IMG_9234-3

Someone needs to tell summer to slow down. But doesn’t this happen every August? For those out there who are as obsessed with fall as I am with summer, I guess August is sort of the unofficial start of fall. When I was in college and grad school August pretty much was fall because the second half of August was when school started back up. It wasn’t until my first summer post grad that summer started to linger and fall came gradually. And let me tell you, it’s been so nice.

IMG_9235

But now? I can’t even buy summer candles. It’s the 18th of August and all I can find is pumpkin and fallen leaves scents. And my question is…why am I feeling like I’m doing something wrong by still embracing all things coconut and sunscreen?

Well….my answer is this salad.

IMG_9237

Wait? When is salad ever the answer? We’re rolling with it.

This salad is a taste of summer in every bite. From the fresh, creamy avocado, to the juicy cherry tomatoes down to the bright and tart lemon vinaigrette. The best part about it? It’s SO freaken’ easy. And what makes it so good is the freshness and ripeness of all the beautiful summer ingredients.

IMG_9267-2

Listen, I’m not hating on pumpkin, or any flavor of fall. However, there’s a time and place for everything and right now, in mid August it’s still time for summer. I’d like to keep the spotlight on my tomatoes and avocados and fresh greens for as long as possible because when they’re good…damn, they’re so good. When veggies are fresh and in season I could eat them every day and that’s exactly how I feel about this salad.

IMG_9261-2

Plus, Dan and I are planning another vacation so with that in the back of my mind all I want to eat UNTIL then is salads on salads. So, please, I’m just not ready for the pumpkin pie yet. Let’s slow down, soak up the last bits of sunshine, darken our tans a little deeper, inhale the ocean breeze a little longer, sit outside to watch the sunset and enjoy this fresh, flavorful summer salad.

IMG_9280

Fresh Summer Salad

Ingredients — 

NOTE: With the exception of the dressing ingredients, I am not including amounts. Hit up your local farmer’s market and pick up as much or as little of each ingredient as you want! This salad can serve one or ten depending how much you get. If serving 5 or less, use the recommended amount of dressing ingredients. If serving one or two, extra dressing will keep in the fridge for a week. If serving more than five, double the amounts for dressing ingredients.

  • arugula
  • 1/4 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice [the juice from one lemon]
  • cherry tomatoes
  • mini mozzarella balls
  • 1 avocado
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • salt and peper, to taste

Directions —

In a small bowl whisk together fresh squeezed lemon juice, olive oil, salt and pepper. You can use a whisk, a fork or shake it up in a mason jar. Mix until ingredients are incorporated and set aside.

Chop up avocado into bite sized pieces. Slice mozzarella balls and cherry tomatoes in half.

Place arugula into a large bowl and sprinkle with salt and fresh ground pepper. Toss to coat. Drizzle desired amount of lemon vinaigrette dressing over arugula leaves and toss to coat. Add in your avocado, mozzarella and tomatoes and toss one final time.

Serve immediately with a glass of chilled rose wine or your favorite beer and a side of late summer sunshine.

Enjoy!

xoxo

I

Leave a Reply

