Fall Favorites!

It’s time for my seasonal favorites post!! Honestly, this was almost a total repeat of my Summer Favorites because I’m still using so many of the same products. We’re currently on hurricane watch here in NY, so my Yankee Candle Storm Watch is going strong as ever. I’m also still using the Laura Mercier rose oil and rose lotion and the Simple Miceller Cleansing Water, love that stuff. Finally, my Tatcha Luminous Dewey Skin Mist is still going strong…daily. But, now, let’s talk fall stuff!

DSC_0936

My skin is kind of freaking out with this drastic change in weather that we’ve had so there’s a shit ton of moisturizers here. There’s also some clarifying masks because my skin likes break out like MAD while simultaneously drying out when the weather cools down. Combination skin is a gem.

Cleansers

DSC_0952

Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay – This stuff. Honestly, I truly believe everyone should own a jar of this. And there’s really no excuse not to because this giant container only cost $8.00. I get mine from Whole Foods and it lasts forever. It’s pure clay…that’s it. No BS, nothing added, just one simple ingredient. This clay is very similar to activated charcoal. What it does is pull everything out of your pores while also tightening and brightening your skin. If you have sallow skin that’s looks a bit lackluster or maybe “saggy” (I know, that’s a horrible word, but I can’t think of a better way to say it. Loose skin? Nothing sounds appealing, I hope you know what I mean!) you NEED this. It firms and tightens your face like nothing I’ve ever experienced. Also, this cleans your skin. It’s like a magnet that just pulls everything out of your pores, but leaves them tight and nonexistent. This has virtually extinguished all the annoying blackheads that used to live on my nose and chin. I use this once a week as a deep cleansing treatment and exfoliant. When you wash it off your face it has a fine granular texture that becomes a gentle exfoliant as you rub it off. What you do is mix equal parts clay and water (it comes as a powder and you can also mix it with apple cider vinegar if your skin is very oily) until it becomes a thick paste. I pat mine onto my face with a plastic knife (classy, I know) and lay it on thick. I let it sit for 10-20 minutes, depending how deep of a clean I need. It pulses and tingles on your face…it’s interesting. When you wash it off your skin may look a little bit red, but my skin is pretty sensitive and the redness fades quick. Bottom line, this stuff is awesome. A girl I work with who’s an editorial makeup artist and skincare obsessed turned me onto this and I am forever grateful because I don’t know how I ever lived without it.

Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cleanser – This is the cleanser I use after the clay mask. The mask is a lot on my skin so after I rinse it off I don’t want to wash with anything too harsh or exfoliating so this has become my go to. It’s incredibly gentle and simply does the job of cleaning off my face. I also use this paired with my Kiehl’s Skin Brightening Exfoliator. I’ll use this first to wash my face, then follow with the exfoliating scrub.

Moisturizers – Face

DSC_0942

Kiehl’s Creamy Eye Treatment – Still using this and still loving it. Loving it so much that it’s worth highlighting it yet again. This stuff is amazing day and night. I pat this onto my orbital bones, outer corners of my eyes and even on my eye lids every morning and night. It’s incredibly thick so it doesn’t move around — meaning, if you put it on in the morning, then go work out, it won’t move when you sweat and sting your eyes. Also, it’s an instant pick me up because avocado is a natural light reflector so it acts as a natural looking highlight. It makes your skin look incredibly healthy and like it’s glowing from within…even if you barely slept the night before. Really, it’s just crazy moisturizing and does an excellent job at keeping fine lines away and protecting my delicate eye area. Been using it for years…can’t stop, won’t stop.

Kiehl’s Panthenol Protein Moisturizing Face Cream – Ok, I actually don’t use this on my face. I still use my Laura Mercier rose cream during the day and Mario Badescu Seaweed Night Cream before bed. I use this stuff on my neck and chest. It’s super moisturizing and keeps my neck and chest area looking as moisturized, glowy and healthy as the skin on my face. I literally glob it onto my neck and chest.

Night Time Skincare

DSC_0951

Is nighttime skincare a thing for you? If not, it should be. I have a completely different stash of products for use only before bedtime because when we sleep our skin absorbs the most and repairs itself. You want to use richer, more intense moisturizers at night because that’s when your skin has the ability to really absorb and benefit from it. Most nighttime products are too heavy to wear during the day or under makeup.

Glamglow Thirsty Mud – Honestly, I don’t think I’ll ever stop using this. Every time I sleep with this on my skin, which is now 3-4 nights a week, I wake up with the most beautiful looking skin. I mean…it’s CRAZY. I wake up looking refreshed, radiant, dewey and clear. I don’t know what kind of magic crack is in this stuff but damn. It’s unreal.

Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate – Ok, this paired with the Glamglow, overnight = INSANE. Pairing these two products just amplifies the awesome effects of the Glamglow. This stuff alone is great…I put this on religiously every night whether I top it with the Glamglow or my Mario Badescu Seaweed cream. It’s a dry oil so it can be used by just about any skin type. I put this on over my serum.

Moisturizers – Body

DSC_0938

c. Booth 4-in1 Multi Action Vanilla Butter Body Lotion – LOVE this. It’s super moisturizing and smells incredible. It’s a sweet, rich, slightly perfumey vanilla. It’s so good that Dan actually steals it to use himself. It works well as a unisex scent; it smells completely different on both of us. It smells better on him though, if we’re being honest. It’s kind of not fair. It’s supposed to decrease the appearance of cellulite but, um….well, I wouldn’t buy it for that purpose. It smells great and softens your skin like a good, hydrating body butter, even though it’s lotion.

Coconut Oil – So, I have that really gross and annoying problem that a ton of people have….”chicken skin”, aka the little bumps that kind of look like itty bitty pimples? They’re on the back of my upper arms. I don’t have it that bad, definitely not as bad as it was when I was younger. I’m probably the only one who notices it but, still, it bothers me to no end. There’s no real cure for it but I’ve found that the best way to go about treating it is to treat it like super dry skin. A lot of people swear by coconut oil and I’m becoming a convert. I rub coconut oil onto the area of my arms that have this twice a day and I started noticing a difference within days. I don’t care if I have to rub coconut oil on my arms twice a day for the rest of my life if it keeps these annoying bumps away!

Kiehl’s Sun Free Self Tanning Formula – Like I said in my Summer Favorites, it’s the only self tanner that doesn’t make my skin break out. It’s a beautiful, natural color and I love it!

Fragrance

DSC_0946

Philosophy Fresh Cream – I still use my signature scent at night, Laura Mercier Vanille Gourmand mixed with Tom Ford Tobacco Vanille, but this is my fall time day to day scent. I love a rich, sweet scent in the fall and this is IT!! Granted, it’s not super rich like a bakery/cakey scent. It’s like a fresh, creamy vanilla. A daytime vanilla, if you will. It’s just so, so, soooo good. I have the lotion as well and it’s just everything. I have yet to meet someone who doesn’t like this scent. I even got it for my friend for her birthday, which a risky thing to do, buying a girl a perfume she’s never owned. But it’s just AMAZING and there’s nothing not to like. Especially if you’re a fan of vanilla and/or sweet scents, but then it’s also really fresh so it’s like the sweet scent that also works for people who don’t like sweet! Listen, just try it.

Hands

DSC_0950

Waxelene – My hands are dry year round, but especially so when the temperatures drop. This stuff is a miracle. It softens and moisturizes my hands and while it’s super thick it doesn’t leave them greasy. It soaks right in. I bought this to use at night but I find myself dipping into it throughout the day as well.

OPI Big Apple Red – There is nothing better than red nails in the fall. Yes, I love me some dark colors but red is always a classic standby. This is just THE most perfect shade of pure red.

Lastly, I have so many favorite candles for fall that I decided to do a separate blog post highlighting my top five instead of trying to cram them all in here. That may indicate I have a bit of a problem… What can I say? Fall is basically the best time of year for candles, it’s like Coziness Level 104839850235602462498. Plus, I’m having a major moment with apple scented candles. It’s bad. You’ll see.

What are you loving for fall??

xoxo

Leave a Reply

