Friday Favorites…on a Monday

What better way to kick the Monday blues than reminisce about fun weekend things, right? That often helps me at least. When I’m having one of those Mondays, you know, the Mondays that really feel like a Monday, it helps to think positive thoughts and reflect on the fun I had over the weekend. The reflection typically lifts my spirits and brightens my mood while also perking me up with excitement and anticipation for the coming weekend. I love busy weeks where I actually have some planning to do for the weekend. With the holidays approaching this weekend this will be one of those weeks. Speaking of holidays, Happy Holy Week to my Easter celebrating friends and Happy Passover to my Jewish friends! I hope all of your holidays are filled with family, fun, love and great food. 🙂

Ok, let’s get on to some fun stuff! We’ll start with what made me embarrassingly giddy and happy all day yesterday from the very second I took my first whiff….does that sound bad? I’m talking about this perfume:

Image

1. Bronze Goddess by Estee Lauder. OH MY GOODNESS. Stop. Just, stop. This scent is what I imagine heaven will smell like when if I walk through those gates. Obviously, because heaven will be a glorious sandy beach where I will forever be island dark and never, ever burn or worry about skin cancer. This stuff doesn’t smell like the typical “tropical” beach scent (think coconut, sweet fruits and tropical floral notes), not at all. Instead, it smells EXACTLY like what your towel smells like when you leave the beach, minus any body odor of course. Note to the universe, never hire me to write a review for scents. I’m not doing the perfume justice, this stuff smells INCREDIBLE. Instead of that fruity/floral tropical scent it smells more like the best sunscreen. Imagine three beautiful, tan, bikini clad girls just walked passed you, one was wearing Coppertone sunscreen, one had on Hawaiian Tropic and one had on Banana Boat and as they walked by you were hit with the scent of all their sunscreen plus some feminine perfume and that pretty, beachy scent every beautiful girl at the beach just emanates. That’s what this stuff smells like. I DIED. Amazingly enough, I didn’t even know this stuff existed until the other day! Although my mom used to shop at Estee Lauder and took me there to buy some of my first makeup products, I’m not really a fan of their makeup or skincare. When it comes to skincare, I’m predominantly a loyal Khiel’s girl, actually.

ANYWAY, last week I was on the treadmill reading Jessica’s blog and she mentioned the lotion form of this stuff. She described it far better than what I just attempted and I made a mental note to check it out. Yesterday Dan and I were at Lord & Taylor because I needed (yes, needed) a pair of Converse. It just so happened that the Estee Lauder counter was right next to the shoes. I wandered over, completely lost at the counter and of course my mental note failed me and I couldn’t for the life of me remember what the lotion was called. OH, and I didn’t even remember it was a lotion or perfume. When the sales woman asked me for help I said, “Yea, I’m looking for this lotion that I’ve never heard of, I forgot the name, I read about it on a blog and it smells like the beach? Well, like sunscreen?”

Blank stare, “We have some products with SPF right this way..”

“No, no, no, it smells like sunscreen! But, it’s just a lotion.”

“Ok, and what’s it called?”

“I don’t know, I just know it smells amazing.”

At this point I caught a glimpse of my husband’s face which I believe projected, “why do I go anywhere in public with you?”.

The saleswoman thought for a bit and then her eyes lit up and she said, “OH! You must be talking about Bronze Goddess! [points to a sign with Beyonce on it and a tray of orange and coral makeup products] It’s a limited edition scent, it only comes out in March I’ll grab you the sample! It’s a perfume!”

As she walked off to get it I was leaning over the counter reminding her that, “No! No, it’s not a perfume! It’s a lotion that smells like –“

Before I could even finish that thought she was waving a spritzed piece of paper in front of my face that smelled like….HEAVEN! I inhaled the scent and as she handed me the bottle to examine I promptly sprayed it all over myself. She informed me that she didn’t have the lotion but this was most likely what I was looking for and it was currently on sale. Based on the description I read, even though I only vaguely remembered it at this point, I knew it was it. Dan enjoyed the scent too so we bought it. There was no way I was leaving without it. When we got in the car Dan said, “wow, that really does smell like the beach. Like Coppertone”. Yup. Throughout the afternoon every time I walked past him he pointed out the beachy scent. It’s just insane. I basically want everything in my life to smell like this all the time. I’ve never been so in love with a scent. IT’S ONLY OUT IN MARCH!! Go get this stuff NOW!

Image

2. So Sunday night after purchasing my beachy perfume I was inspired to create a beachy cocktail. I recently tried this new vodka called Ultimat, which is actually by Patron. Tequila is my drink of choice so I figured a vodka made by the tequila kings would be right up my alley. It’s a great smooth, velvety vodka! When Dan and I went to Curacao a few years ago their signature drink was this Blue Curacao lemonade which I loved! I recreated it by mixing 1 part Ultimate Vodka with 2 parts lemonade and a splash of orange juice. I shook that together with ice, poured it in a glass and topped it with 1/2 ounce of Blue Curacao and let the pretty color feather out into the drink. It was so refreshing and took me right back to the beaches of Curacao! Naturally, I painted my nails with Essie’s Bikini So Teeny…to follow suit with my beach themed day and match my drink. Because I’m that girl. 

3. I recently started reading The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin and I cannot put it down!! I bought it to read at the beach and have been trying to savor it but that’s not happening. I’m not even half way through yet and I’ve been recommending it to everyone! I already told Dan that May 1st is the start date for my own one year happiness project. I love that she based the book off research she conducted on positive psychology and historical, philosophical literature. As someone who holds a BA in philosophy and an MA in psychology I have read most of the books and articles she refers to and really enjoy her take and interpretation on it. 

4. Finally, a few new to me songs that I simply cannot get enough of!!

Sheila Put the Knife Down – Junior Prom

Habits – Tove Lo 

505 – Arctic Monkeys

 

Have a great week! xoxo

One thought on “Friday Favorites…on a Monday

  1. Why yes, I did just go on a lindsayylovee blog reading spree, and I’m just now commenting on this post. I am so obsessed with the Estee Lauder Bronze Goddess scent too. When I worked for Clinique, Estee was right across the aisle from me, and everyday I would go and spray it on myself during the summer months. I really should go pick it up. I miss it!

Leave a comment